Utorrent & Zone Alarm FREE ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Bls440, Jan 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Hi,

    I'm using Zone Alarm v 7.1.078.000 on Windows Vista.
    This is the free or basic edition.
    Everything is running fine, however, I can't get utorrent to work properly. My port is still blocked, even after allowing the application to connect. Turning off the program control doesn't fix the problem.
    In the program control tab, I've already checked both of the Access & Server columns ; I guess I can't fix the issue, as I would have to create a specific rule to allow UDP/TCP traffic, some features that you can't do using ZoneAlarm free.
    I considered buying ZA pro, but it's not Vista compatible yet, and I really don't need bloated ZA Security suite ...

    Am I wrong, or can you actually create rules with that free edition of ZA ?
    Thanks, cheers
     
  2. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    You can create rules, and try lowering firewall to medium.
     
  3. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Thanks for your reply, however I wanted to keep the 'High' presets as it totally disables file sharing
     
  4. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Medium is default I believe. I make all my programs "super".
     
  5. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Make sure all check marks are green next to uTorrent. Works for me.
     
  6. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    medium is not default.
     
  7. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    I think you could put it on medium and then custom it so you disable file sharing?
     
  8. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    How would you do that ?

    Also, I don't wanna use ZASS :eek:
     
  9. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Go into Program Control/Program. ZA and ZAAS have the same functions. ZA lacks OSFirewall protection.
     
  10. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    I already did the check marks thing, I didn't work
     
  11. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Did you make uTorrent "Super"? Make all check marks green. Thats what mine is set to and works fine.
     
  12. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    There's no "super" option ... I know it's avail in ZA pro / ZASS, but not in the free edition
     
  13. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Well sorry but I guess its not helping. Head on over to the ZA forums. Have you tried rebooting?
     
  14. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    You can check with the ZAPRO for Vista, right now in BETA, to see if opening ports is helping... if it works you could think of buying it, otherwise better to move to another firewall.

    www.zonealarm.com/beta

    I have seen users having no issue with torrent software and ZAfree. Have you tried with another torrent client?

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  15. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    What exactly do you mean by work properly. Does uTorrent connect?. Do you downloads not start? If uTorrent starts and connects it doesn't sound like ZA fault.
     
  16. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    LOL, nor do i dude. :D
     
  17. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Thank you everyone for your replies.
    Well, utorrent connects but I get very low speeds, since the port isn't opened (I checked using utorrent feature). Of course, when I turn off ZA, it works perfectly fine.
    I guess I'll wait for Zonelabs to release ZA pro for Vista ! ;)

    As far as I remember, I didn't encounter that problem on my XP desktop, using the same ZA free version ... yay, Vista ! ;)
     
  18. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Must be a Vista problem. I am on XP.
     
  19. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Well, more like Zone labs didn't really finish the Vista compatible product ...
     
  20. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I would first ask if the Vista firewall is fully disabled.
     
  21. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    I now use Comodo on Vista but was using ZA free and didn't have any problem with μTorrent. Remember not all torrents come through at top speed, there are a few variables including the amount of seeds and the speed of their internet connection, but if you are experiencing this across the board then it's likely a problem at your end. Also some Internet Providers block μTorrent and all other torrent and P2P communication to limit download speed, with μTorrent you can enable encryption to get around this, you'll find it on the Speed Guide window. To be honest it never seemed to make much difference to my speeds if ports were open or closed.
    Try Comodo, works well on Vista and you can play with ports to your hearts content.
     
  22. mike113377

    mike113377 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Hi back (this is Bls440, I'm on my desktop pc)

    Yes, windows vista fw is turned off (I turned it off and disabled the service).

    As I stated before, as soon as I turn off ZA, my port is opened and utorrent works properly (at full speed)
    Also, I don't wanna use any other fw, I know that Comodo is a good product, but still, I wanna keep using a software I'm familiar with
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
  24. mike113377

    mike113377 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Thank you ! =)
    Feels like they released it today!
     
  25. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Actually yesterday and some ZA web pages (ZAPRO) are not yet updated...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.