utorrent how can lower the impact of I/O of my ssd drive?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Jan 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    hi

    i still have utorrent 2.2.1 32bit , i know it's an old version

    i run it under w7 64bit and w8.1 64bit

    i use to download freeware for example i download some days ago 3 linux distro iso and 1 collection of freewares , linux based and and when i always did set the destination in utorrent on an external usb hard disk

    i used utorrent and i did notice that these downloads did impact on the i/o of the ssd

    should i upgrade utorrent to avoid writes on my ssd?
    or there are some option in 2.2.1 to avoid writes on my ssd

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2014
  2. newbino

    newbino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    377
    It's questionable how much impact these writes actually do have on your SSD, but here's something you may want to reflect upon:
    utorrent in vm
     
  3. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    I would set utorrent to download to a HDD rather than SSD if you have one in your system, utorrent does lots & lots of small writes to the drive & I would think over time could cause issues with the SSD.

    I have a SSD as main drive & 1TB HDD in my system, I have set utorrent to use the HDD for all downloads :)
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Change the download destination to an external drive (or) a drive other than your SSD. I the case of uTorrent - older is better as newer versions are loaded with bloat
     
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Bloat can be removed by simply modifying the advanced option names.

    OP in uTorrent go to Options > preferences > Directories. Check put new downloads in and select the folder you want them in. In your case it would be your secondary drive.

    I have my directory set to my T drive which is a mapped network drive from an external 1.5Tb Seagate Barracuda drive attached to my wireless router USB port.
     
  6. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    -----
     

    Attached Files:

  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    I highly doubt anyone other than a Torrent client tweaker would understand that statement. uTorrent is ad-supported - are known for removing privacy features such as phoning home for updates and (bundling-in) bloat such as games and other unwanted <*ahem*> "features" - If you could point at a uTorrent article that states what advanced option names are, we'd all be happy to read it.
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    hi
    which version is it?
    override automatic ... should be set to use ram to avoid disk writes

    is there a client better then utorrent?

    i have http://i.imgur.com/b6yrg1K.png
     
  9. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    224
    I've seen others recommend qBittorrent.
    http://www.qbittorrent.org/
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    qBittorrent doesn't look to have better option to reduce the writes
    by the way thanks
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  12. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    You could use a ram disk to stick you current downloads on.

    Of course you have to balance how much ram you give over to it as it could slow down the rest of the system if you use too much.

    Some ramdisks like buffalo ramdisk have an option to copy the contents back to hard disk before reboot and copy back on boot up.

    It will increase startup and shutdown though.
     
  13. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    If you install uTorrent to a folder on the HDD, then copy the contents of the user folder (AppData\uTorrent) to that one, it will run as a portable application. That way it isn't constantly refreshing your status to the SSD. I don't know if it really matters in terms of reducing writes, but maybe it adds up if you're running it 24/7.

    Also, make sure your temporary folder is on the HDD, not just the "final" folder. It doesn't hurt to make them the same folder, actually, as long as you check uTorrent to see that the file is finished before trying to use it.
     
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    thanks SirDrexl

    but in the utorrent preferences there is not temporary folder


    i did but it still load from appdata/utorrent :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  15. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    I recently ditched utorrent due to its built-in nonsenseware and switched to an alternative, so I understand why people would want to use an older version.
    Mrk
     
  17. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    v1.61 was the last open source version before a company took it over
     
  18. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    I was referring to them like this:

    Temp folder = "put new downloads in"
    Final folder = "move completed downloads to"

    I haven't used it in a while, so I'm going by the manual page. I don't know why it isn't loading from the same folder instead of AppData either. Maybe try asking on their forums as they should be more knowledgeable about it.
     
  19. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  20. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.