Using TOR with Polipo v Privoxy

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Wendy KnightWalker, Apr 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wendy KnightWalker

Wendy KnightWalker Registered Member

Hi Everyone, I'm new to this site and not too sure how to use it yet so if I stick my thread in the wrong forum I'd appreciate it if a moderator would move it to the right board and let me know.

My question has to do with using TOR. My operating system is Windows XP Hone Edition with SP2.

I've been using TOR for several years and haven't had any difficulties until just recently, when I installed the latest version of the TOR Bundle.

My previous TOR bundle had came with Privoxy and Vidalia and was working just fine until I did the update to the latest bundle, which contained Polipo instead of Privoxy.

Now Privoxy won't work because Polipo has taken its place and it can't bind to port 8118 any more.

Is there a way to get Privoxy and Polipo to both work while using TOR?

I'm asking because now that Privoxy can't run my browser is being over run with all of the ads that it use to block and I can't figure out how to get Polipo to block those things for me.

Thanks for any help or insight offered.

Wendy

2. JRViejo

JRViejo Super Moderator

Wendy, I moved your post to this Forum to gain more exposure.

JR

3. Lyx

Lyx Registered Member

First, You can configure Privoxy in order it uses a port other than 8118, eg 8112, then chain to Tor, bypassing polipo.

Second, it's possible to chain privoxy and polipo. I think it has to be done in the folowing order:
    browser -> privoxy -> polipo -> tor -> internet
    You have to configure privoxy (port 8112) in order it uses polipo (port 811:cool: as parent proxy. See the privoxy's config file for that.

4. Wendy KnightWalker

Hi Guys, Thanks for the replies.