Using Tor + VPN

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by prnoid_ntrepreneur, Feb 11, 2014.

1. prnoid_ntrepreneur

prnoid_ntrepreneur Registered Member

im confused on how one would use tor and a vpn together. the aim being to stop your isp knowing you're using tor and using tor to protect you from your vpn. but how would this be setup exactly. ive done some research on the topic but its all so confusing.

also do most vpn providers (recommended on here) route your traffic to exit from several ips and locations like tor does or do they just assign you one ip that is consistent?

but i really want to find out how to use tor and vpn together so that there are 2 layers of security. using tor by itself is not an option as the isp can tell if youre using tor.

2. pegr

pegr Registered Member

I'm no expert, but I'll have a stab at answering based on my own experience of using Tor and VPN together.

Using Tor over a VPN connection is easy. All you have to do is to open your VPN connection first before connecting to Tor. After opening the VPN connection all traffic, including Tor traffic, will automatically be routed through the VPN.

Typically a VPN will route via a single server, depending on which server you choose to connect to. Most VPN providers will have servers in several countries. This enables you to easily confirm that Tor traffic is routing over the VPN. If you open a normal browser connection, and go to www.myiponline.com, you will see the IP address the VPN server has assigned. If you then do the same thing using the Tor browser, you will see the IP address that the Tor network has assigned. If Tor is routing over VPN, the two IP addresses will be different.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  3. PaulyDefran

PaulyDefran Registered Member

Pretty much explains it. You basically start one, or the other, first - depending on what you want, and your threat model.