Using SafeOnline(Facebook) but no tab on Opera

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by EscapeVelocity, Apr 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    There is the tab on Chrome, Explorer, and Firefox, but not on Opera which is my mainly used browser, currently.

    Opera 10 has a funny new toolbar system, maybe that is the problem.
     
  2. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    I went into preferences and checked all the toolbars but none of them show a PrevRX tab, but a funny thing happened, while I was doing that, the PrevRX tab
    showed up on top of the Preferences window....but as soon as I close it, its gone, and no tab on the main browser window.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi

    Can you tell us what OS you are using and if you are using 32bit or 64bit and the version of Opera that you are using on your system?

    TIA,

    TH

    EDIT: Also which version number of SafeOnline(Facebook)
     
  4. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Windows XP Home SP3 32bit

    Its the latest version up to date of Opera
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Opera 10.51 or 10.52Beta which is not completely supported yet by Prevx! I just found out that 10.51 the tab is there but no info in the tab see here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662302&postcount=19

    TIA,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  6. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    10.51

    However I just reverted to a backup image. Ill try to install again, and keep you posted.
     
  7. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Alright, I installed it and got the same thing. Poked around the toolbars again and no dice. Went to Appearances and the window displayed the PrevRX tab, as before.

    Then I changed the Appearence Skin to Windows Native Skin from Opera Standard and it appeared.

    I changed it back to Opera Standard skin and it hesitated then disappeared.

    I changed back to Windows Native Skin and it reappeared on that bar at the top, which was appearing and disappearing by toggling the skins.

    Hope that helps.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    OK I don't know if you know that the tab is moveable by opening the tab then dragging the window to where you want! So move it down to the middle of the page with Windows Native Skin from Opera Standard and switch skins to see if it's still there? And if it is just move the tab window to where you want it again!

    TH
     
  9. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    That seems to work. I even closed then reopened Opera browser and it stayed put....in the Opera Standard skin.
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to here!! Are you getting info in your tab window? And when you go to an HTTPS site does it turn green for you? Check with this link: https://www.paypal.com/ca/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_home&country_lang.x=true

    TH
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  11. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Yes and yes. Is there some tips for configuring. I havent configured a thing yet. Is its default configuration good for dummies.
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it is good in default mode but if you do online Banking you can setup your credentials in the tab window, configure then advanced!

    HTH,

    Cheers,

    TH :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thanks for the responses, TH!

    We'll do some testing to see what the problem is with handling the Opera Standard skin on XP SP3 and hopefully correct it in a new version shortly. Thanks for the debugging assistance! :)
     
  14. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    I don't get directed to the right page to download this alternative. Could someone from the staff please send me a direct-link to me so that I can also use it? Thank you
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you're looking for the Prevx Facebook version, you can get it from http://www.prevx.com/facebook - if not, let me know which link you're looking for :)
     
  16. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    I just wanted you to know that I had the menu bar hidden in Opera, when my problem occurred. Ive been poking around Opera abit and see now that there is box to check on the File Menu - Show Menu Bar, I had that hidden. Perhaps that was the weirdness.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I had a feeling the tab was always there but above the window so making the window smaller you would of seen the Tab with that problem skin!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.