Using Older Version of Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Melita, Dec 31, 2017.

  1. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    My backup requirements are very simple and I find Macrium latest free version has far too many features that I would never use. All I need is a simple but reliable backup of the system and files. Only useful things for me in Macrium are Differential Backup, its ability to integrate with Windows Explorer for file restoration and backup schedules. I am looking at some of their older versions to find something less bloated.

    Is there any reason against using an older version of Macrium Reflect?

    Are there any other applications that are lighter and more suitable for my purpose than Macrium?

    Thank you
     
  2. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    885
    Location:
    Southern California
    Why not use the latest FREE version and simply ignore the other things you don't need.
    That way at least you have a modern up-to-date version.
    I really enjoy my 100% discount. You will too.:)
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,073
    You might also look at Drive Snapshot. It's not free, but if you don't want bloat, it's a 400kb program that you don't need to install.
     
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,197
    @Melita ,

    You could probably continue to use the older version. Unless you get new hardware that the older version does not support. And IF you get the new version, I suggest you keep an eye on those retention settings to avoid the unintended deletion of whole images !
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I think the biggest issue with older versions, especially if you're a Win10 user, will be the scheduling that you say you'll need. There have been lots of issues concerning the new Windows Task Scheduler (WTS) v2 under Win10 and older versions of Macrium always try and use WTS v1. The compatibility mode for v1 when using v2 has some serious differences (issues?).

    If you're using W8+ or earlier, Reflect v6 is excellent and the Rapid Delta Restore (RDR) feature introduced in that version is 2nd to almost no other imager (well, some are clawing at Macrium's heels on that one :D ). If you want to use v6 like v5 and earlier, just make sure you set your DEFAULT OPTIONs prior to taking your first image... and the one that's important is the RETENTION OPTIONS (new feature in v6 as well). unCHECK all the Retention Options so that Reflect will leave your images alone if that's the way you like to run your imaging (ask @Fly , he's learned :) ) ... you make the decisions as to when images go away.

    I have found v6 to be solid as a rock since shortly after its release (Feb. 2015) and have not, as of yet, moved to v7 in any sort of production mode. I am primarily a Win7 production user with almost constant testing going on in both the Win10 and Linux MINT areas.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
  6. JDGILL

    JDGILL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    Other than IFW are there any others that reliably do this?
     
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Not that I a aware of...
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,073
    I agree, lots are now doing it on imaging, but I don't know of any other on restore
     
  9. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    A brief question about Ver.6 and upgrading to Ver.7 - is it a relative easy process, or is a complete uninstall/re-install needed with all settings being needed to be re-set?
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    John, under Win10 it's a toss-up. If the user has left everything in place and just upgraded to app, there has been some scheduling issues. If you're willing to remove your current schedules in the v6 UI (not your DEFINITIONS, just the schedule part) prior to the upgrade, the re-install and re-schedule has gone pretty well.

    Of course the safest way is to re-do it all...
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    10,683
    Location:
    .
    When I upgraded v6 to v7 I installed it over the top. As I remember, I didn't have to change settings, but I checked them all and made some small changes. I recreated my definitions files and removed and created new tasks. I also recreated rescue media. Overall it was problem-free experience for me.
     
  12. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for this very helpful post. This is for my Windows XP and occasionally used Win 7. According to what you say v6 looks like a good choice so I'll start with that. Your warning about Retention Options is much appreciated. I will be using a 1TB external drive. There is going to be a lot of extra space.

    Is it alright to use some of this same drive space to save other things, apart from backups?

    Is it a good idea to partition the drive and use one of the partitions exclusively for backups and use the other partition for other things?

    I am unable to locate the above link @Fly[/USER]
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,073
    Hi Melita

    I have both external and internal drives I use for images. Also use for other things in both cases. As for partitions, some people sware it's the only way to go. For me none of my d rives have more then one partition. I just use folders with name that identify what's in them. Never had a problem.

    Pete
     
  14. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    You can use that drive for anything. I would suggest using a separate FOLDER for your REFLECT backups.

    There's really no need for exclusive use of that drive unless you feel better by partitioning it.

    The @Fly link was nothing but a reference to a user who fired up v7 and discovered what unintended DEFAULT Retention rules can do to existing backups when they share the same folder.
     
  15. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you Pete and TheRollbackFrog. Do you know of a safe place to download Macrium Version 6? Macrium website does not appear to offer it anymore.
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,073
    Stay Tuned
     
  17. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    I need both 32 and 64 bit
     
  18. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    574
    @Melita, to get the Free Edition of Reflect v6.3.1849 (the last v6 build) directly from Macrium...

    32-bit: http://updates.macrium.com/Reflect/v6/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=4&arch=0&redirect=Y

    64-bit: http://updates.macrium.com/Reflect/v6/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=4&arch=1&redirect=Y

    JA
     
  19. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Please be aware, the LINKs above posted by @Jo Ann are fully unsupported and may be inactivated at any time (they are used by Macrium in an under the radar calculation for the current download that's requested by a user... it may change at any time, especially if it's found in the wild)

    If forum members have this kind of information, it should be offered privately, not publicly.
     
  20. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    574
    Hi Froggie,

    The links were sent to me by MR Support shortly after v7 Free was released. I was never told they should not be disclosed. :confused:

    JA
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2018
  21. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Not a problem, JA... thank you for being so helpful. It's just that their method to determine the proper download needed for the requestor has changed in the past, and may change again in the future. That's why those LINKs are not available anywhere on their website... they're part of a calculated path to the actual release.
     
  22. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    574
    Froggie, I now understand where you are coming from. So I'll add this caveat to anyone who attempts to use those links... while the links I provided in post #18 worked perfectly fine when they were sent to me, they may not now (or in the future) get v6 Free.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2018
  23. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Jo Ann. Thank you for helping.

    I installed Macrium v6. It created an image but made the following statement, printed in red colour, in the Disk Imaging Page.

    "Analyzing file system on Volume C
    Failed to create volume snapshot for drive C. Result code 0*8004230f
    Using pssnap sys instead"

    What does it mean? I cheeked the image using Macrium and it says it is good.
     
  24. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It's telling you that it cannot find VSS (Windows' Volume Snapshot Service) on the System it's trying to image (most likely XP), and instead will use its own snapshot driver, PSSNAP.SYS, software.

    All should be well if it really is Windows XP (Windows XP has no VSS equivalent)...
     
  25. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, it is XP. I am sorry I forgot to mention that here.

    Thank you
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.