Using BitDefender9

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ronbo613, Apr 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronbo613

ronbo613 Registered Member

I've been using BitDefender9 for a couple months now and it seems to be doing the job. Caught a few email viruses and HTML-based Trojans. I switched my cleaning actions to "Delete Infected File" as first choice and "Quarantine Infected File" as second choice. I needed a little assistance, the Technical Support via email was very helpful. I mentioned I was using some other software(Spybot, SpywareGuard, SpywareBlaster, Adaware, CCleaner) that may be causing problems. I sent them a HijackThis log and they checked everything out.
    At first, I did not want to get rid of the anti-spyware software. I didn't notice any conflicts with BD9, so it wasn't an issue. After a couple months of Spybot coming up without any spyware and BD9 adding spyware protection, I uninstalled Spybot and SpywareGuard. All I have now is BD9, Adaware, CCleaner and SpywareBlaster, all seem to be running fine. I usually run CCleaner and Adaware when I'm done for the day, Adaware is not finding much these days either. CCleaner does a good job of cleaning up after a busy day on the internet, I'll keep it as long as there are no problems. With CCleaner, you have to uncheck the setting that deletes logfiles or it will delete the BD9 logs and you'll get a message from BD9.
    All in all, I'm pretty satisfied with BitDefender. I paid $20 for it, it's worth that, for sure. Having used Norton AV for the past few years, BD9 is way better than that, especially with updates. BD9 does run a lot of stuff in the startup menu, but if you want your whole computer protected, I guess that's the price you pay.

2. gerardwil

gerardwil Registered Member

Thanks for info..........:doubt:

3. pykko

pykko Registered Member