Using 'backup' of old to a new computer

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by BarbieGee, Jan 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BarbieGee

BarbieGee Registered Member

I am very new to using ATI (11 build 8101). I have only done a back up on my old (5 years old) laptop (Win XP HE) once. My ignorance level on ATI is rather high as I have not had time to really familiarize myself with this wonderful product and I apologize for this. "playing" around with my data on my computer scares me too much to experiment which is why I would rather ask a question before I really get into trouble.
    That said:
    I purchased a used laptop with Windows XP Pro. I would like to use the backup on this newer computer. I am sure I can but not sure what I will find when all is done. One issue I had with my old backup software (a NERO product) was my AOL PFC was unusable and all my bookmarks in Firefox were gone. Will I have the same problem with my Acronis backup? If so is there a way to avoid this? No issues with backing up to this XP Pro O/S?

Thanks to any gurus who respond. :D

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

That old backup quite likely will not work on the newer laptop because of the different hardware on it. But there are some ways around this. One is to change the display on the old laptop to Standard VGA and then make a Backup.

You didn't say where you keep your Backup Images, but in the case of a laptop and for what you want to do, an external usb drive is the best option.

You should also make the bootable True Image Rescue CD in order to restore the Image to the other laptop. Once the Image is restored to the other laptop and it boots for the first time, it will go through a whole slew of "Found New Hardware" popups. Let it finish this procedure.

BTW, if you do restore that backup from the old laptop, it will wipe out XPPro on the other laptop and replace it with what was on the old one, XP Home.