Using Avast Home, considering a change...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Hipgnosis, Sep 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hipgnosis

Hipgnosis Registered Member

I have been using Avast Home (free) for several years now and have been happy with it, however, I have been hearing a lot about AntiVir Classic and AOL AVS lately and was wondering if either of these offered superior reasons to change. If so, which one, and why?

In addition to positive reasons for considering these other products over Avast, are there negatives to be aware of with these two products (AntiVir & AVS)?

2. Hipgnosis

Ok, maybe I just answered my question....well...at least half of it. :) After reading the EULA for AOL-AVS I will not be installing or considering it at this time.

So, with that said...how do you folks feel about Avast free vs AntiVir free? Should I stick with Avast or does Antivir offer substantial improvement?

3. trjam

trjam Registered Member

stepping up to Antivir would be a positive move.

4. Hipgnosis

Ok, care to elaborate?

5. kdm31091

kdm31091 Registered Member

Antivir has about 6-8% better detection. It's not too big of a difference. Avast is good as long as you're a safe surfer. If you're risky you might want Antivir. Not a huge difference though - if you like Avast keep it.

6. the Tester

the Tester Registered Member

It comes down to some different considerations.
    Surfing habits,detection capabilities, and the neccessity of a mail scanner component.

AntiVir IMO has a bit better detection capabilities.
    AntiVir free doesn't have a mail scanner.Avast does.
    If you surf conservatively,you could get by with Avast.

I prefer AntiVir but I have installed Avast for family members that insist on having a mail scanner.

7. JimIT

JimIT Registered Member

If you have been served well by Avast! for the last 5 years, then there is no reason to futz about with changing AV's--IMO.