Use Swappable Hard Drive in Enclosure for Backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by redou, Nov 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redou

    redou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Hello. HELP requested. I've read on this forum and others about PROBLEMS with external hard drive backup systems, especially when it comes time to restore.
    Does it make sense to purchase an INTERNAL hard drive that is SWAPPABLE with
    the one in my computer and put it into an EXTERNAL USB enclosure (with a fan) I'm thinking if the RESTORE is a problem then just plug it in place of the original. Planning to purchase ACRONIS 10 also. Any thoughts on this scheme from computer LITERATI would be more than appreciated. Thanks. Redou@i-55.com
     
  2. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    I use external drives (pre-configured); I use internal drives in external cases; I use external drives in removable hard drive drawwers.

    An IMPORTANT item is the USB box that holds the drive; its USB circuitry is important.
    I've found some no-name brands of boxes that do NOT work well; I have onther brands (ads technology, western digital) that work well, reliable

    but I've had good luck with most of hte scenario's above.
    nick
     
  3. redou

    redou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    To AOZ. Thanks much for your timely reply. Redou.
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I use one of these with drives in three drawers.

    http://www.startech.com/Product/Category.aspx?MLID=7&WCLID=62&WCID=190&c=UK

    Images are accumulated on an internal slave drive.
    My main drives in the drawers are updated by swapping the current main with one of the backup drives and then running a restore. Because the original drive is now the backup there is no need to run any validations ever.

    The backup images are run automatically with no user input required.

    Xpilot
     
  5. redou

    redou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    To Xpilot. Your input and time is appreciated. Redou
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.