Use a Ramdisk to increase Firefox security

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by dogma, Dec 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dogma

    dogma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    138
  2. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  3. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
  5. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    That guy has BAD logic.

    Firstly How does he think the recovery tool will be able to be run ?

    Secondly if a machine is in a state that someone can run a recovery tool, then they will be also able to install a trojan, disable/tweak security tools, so the next time you browse the web, ram-disk or not, they will be able to sniff exactly what your doing...
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Sounds like a useless overkill. And I don't see how it increases security, merely allows you to hide your pron history search better from the ex-wife's investigators.
    Mrk
     
  7. controler

    controler Guest

    I used and posted about this product about 4 years ago. It worked great
    but cost 69 bucks. They also sold a PC card that had 4 gig a mem on it but that was very expensive. I was running Firefox with it and it looks like same GUI as one listed above. At the time i posted here along time ago, nobody was interested.

    http://tucows.com/preview/330411
     
  8. controler

    controler Guest

    I just checked cenatek's web site and man have they come along ways in 4 years. They now have express cards or a PCI adapter to use with Windows 98, XP and all versions of vista. Their old version of RAMDisk only allowed 30 uses. It almost looks like there is a free Vista version. Not sure yet.


    http://www.cenatek.com/products.php
     
  9. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Yes but it's RC2...
     
  10. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    I think you have to ask yourself what you're securing against. It might if you're looking to hide your browsing habits from data recovery or an amature attempting forensics, but it won't do anything for malware. If someone is attempting to monitor what sites you visit remotely, then it's unlikely that they will wait until your browser is closed (or your computer is shut down) and read the browser cache from disk; it's more likely that they will just monitor and log the traffic in realtime.
     
  11. controler

    controler Guest

    Notok

    I agree your real time activity could be monitored. This is mainly to speed up your apps. I don't know if speeding a program such as Kaspersky would matter LOL
    But it does speed up apps and browsing. But at present they only provide coverage for IE not Firefox.
    Anytime you use RAM for your app, it is going to be way faster then using your HD.
    STILL A USEFULL UTILITY
     
  12. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I disagree, not anytime, just sometimes (assuming a current common fully multitasking OS).
    Negative side effects - not as much space for disk caching, not as much space for other processes which could cause more disk thrashing as memory is paged from ram to disk.
    When you close the app/reboot the machine the cache has to be recreated so in the long run any savings are negated (specifically I have observed this with massive temp tables sql server).
    Plus the amount of info you can cache in ram is far less than can be ever cached to disk - (again using sql server I have created dataware housed data (denormalised data) which is faster than trying to access the raw normalised data in ram (temp table)), I am talking 2gb of raw data warehouses into over 80 gb of data.

    In certain circumstances I agree a ram disk MAY be benificial (single main process in use with ample free ram for the app AND data in ram), eg a pc set up to run a browser in kiosk mode. :D, but not anytime.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.