USB problem with Universal Restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by AaronAnderson, Oct 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    I've been having a lot of problems lately with new computers that don't have PS2 ports on them any longer, only USB.

    So I'll restore an image to the desktop, and use Universal Restore and reboot. The system will boot and get all the way to the "press CTRL+ALT+DEL to log on" screen, but the keyboard and mouse are not detected in regular or safe mode. I tried changing the ports they are plugged into because sometimes this triggers plug and play to take care of things.

    So, what the heck am I supposed to do?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Do the computers have a "Legacy USB" option in the BIOS?

    If so, then enabling (or disabling) this may let the USB mouse and keyboard work. Once Windows has installed the appropriate drivers, the Legacy setting can be returned to its previous setting or left at the current setting.
     
  3. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    There is a great solution for this troublesome issue. Look at post #13 by homer007 in this thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=130321 . It looks complicated, but that is only because he gave very good, fully detailed instructions. After you understand the procedure, it only takes a few minute to apply. I've used it many times with great success.

    In a nutshell, you use BartPE to inject a program called HWPnP.exe into the system and edit the registry to put it in Run Once. On first boot, HWPnP will execute early and install drivers for the mouse and keyboard.
     
  4. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    I will try the legacy option. It's a newer Dell optiplex. Had the same issue with a handful of other Dell systems.

    Mustang: That's an awesome utility. It looks like that will take care of my problems.

    Thanks!
     
  5. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi Aaron,

    You're welcome.

    Try putting HWPnP in the system and editing the registry to add it to Run Once before you take the image. Then remove the Run Once entry after you take the image. That way you can save the step of injecting it later with BartPE. You could also pre-inject it into an existing image by mounting the image in Read/Write mode. Then use regedit to load the Software hive from the image. Put HWPnP in Run Once and unload the hive. That would give you three options on how to add it, depending on how much advance notice you have that a Universal Restore will be needed.
     
  6. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    My technician that did the work today set this up as runonce, but he noted that when the new machine booted that it gave an unverified publisher screen that he couldn't get past. I think I'm going to have to try and PS2 PCI card.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.