USB cable length question

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Oleg, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. Oleg

    Oleg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    USA
    Alright. I have a bunch of USB 3.0 cables. When i plug-in "6 ft. into the external storage HHDs. it will "disconnect or lose connection on and off." It does not happen with "3 ft. Is cable length matters.?
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2016
  2. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Yes, length matters, but 6 ft cables (in perfect condition) should not be a problem. So it is more likely your 6ft cable(s) is/are of poorer quality, or are damaged. Generally, the maximum length is considered 3 - 5 meters, depending on USB version and device speed.
     
  3. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    I have a 15 meter USB2 cable that works well. But it has an amplifier :)
     
  4. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    491
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    When using an external network adapter I've found that anything more than 2 m is no good , even with a quality cable [ USB 2 ]
    If I need more than that it is easier to use a longer cable on the RF side.
     
  5. Oleg

    Oleg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone knows how to ID manufacturer of the cable?.
     
  6. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    If the cable is not labeled, there's no way.
     
  7. Oleg

    Oleg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    USA
  8. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    491
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    I would like one of those , could you give a link ?

    I can see 10 m USB3 compatible cables at around 20 bucks.
    They are described as "active " , which I take to mean that the +5 volt line is connected at both ends .

    They are also described as " high quality " , which I take to mean absolutely nothing .... :)
     
  9. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Incompatibility with what? If the cable says it supports USB 3.0, it should work with that drive - assuming the cable is not damaged.
     
  10. rrrh1

    rrrh1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Is It one of the Western Digital drives powered from the USB port ?

    The length of the cable may cause loses that cause malfunction.
    The drive is pushing the limit on current, particularly on USB 2.0 anyway.

    The cable that came with the passport drive I have is quite big and stiff. and less than 2 meters in length.

    rrrh1 (arch1)
     
  11. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    Yes, this is what you want. The +5V line runs the amplifier. So you can't run powered devices (or charge) using these cables. There might be a way to kludge this with a powered USB hub, but that might kill stuff, so I'd test with expendable devices ;)
    ;)
     
Loading...