urlmon.dll

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by share666, Sep 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. share666

    share666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I get an error whenever I start Port Explorer. The title of the message says "entry point not found" and the message says "The procedure [any] could not be located in the DLL urlmon.dll".

    What does this mean? I have uninstalled and reinstalled and still get this message.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi share666, What other security applications are you running and what operating system are you using?

    There are known incompatibilities with McFee firewall and some LSP enabled applications.

    Thanks. Pilli :)
     
  3. share666

    share666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I have XP Pro SP2. Norton Anti-virus; Process Guard, MS Antispyware, RegDefend, and Outpost. I have tried turning off all process (at least from the start menu), re-booting, uninstalling, re-installing etc.
     
  4. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Very strange. URLMON.DLL is a Windows component which has functions for URL access. Check the version and date of the file, however it should be protected by Windows File Protection.

    The fact that PE uses functions in this DLL means when you start PE, the file is checked for some functions. Its used when downloading updates to the WHOIS database etc.

    I believe the file must be corrupt or infected, the first thing you should do is try an online scan with some other AV. You could also schedule a disk check/repair by running CMD.EXE and then entering this command at the DOS prompt

    chkdsk /f

    Then choose Y to schedule a repair, reboot and allow it to happen. Then hope for the best - I hope its NOT a virus infection..
     
  5. share666

    share666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I will try your suggestions tonight. Meanwhile...I have version 6.0.2900.2713 of urlmon.dll. I have run several tools (spybot, spysweeper, adaware) and have not received any errors.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    share666, Get the file checked here: http://virusscan.jotti.org/ Use the browse and then submit button at the top of the page.

    HTH Pilli
     
  7. Happy Bytes

    Happy Bytes Guest

    This Virus Check doesn't help if the file is corrupted. And most likely it is.
    Such Errors you get for instance if there is no valid EntryPoint. Or the code after the EP matches 00 00 00 00 or FF FF FF FF etc...

    So just try to send your URLMON.DLL file to Gavin. He can make a binary compare on it.
     
  8. share666

    share666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Well, I submitted my file to jotti. It came back clean. Neat site, though. I'll have to keep it. I re-registered urlmon.dll and several other modules. I re-installed IE. Same problem. Probably need to re-build my machine. Interestingly, other port monitors seem to work just fine. I think I'll uninstall Port Explorer and just write off the $30. Unfortunate as I also had to take a bath on TDS. Now I'm down to just Process Guard.

    Thanks everyone for your help.
     
  9. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Please do send me the URLMON.DLL, which is the right thing to do. We can at least try to help if you want to get this sorted out, its particularly strange since lots of other programs on your machine would use URLMON.DLL.

    We could try a simple test - a small EXE which calls this functionality as well to see if THAT gives you the same error. If it does, then its your system not just PE, right ? :) Please send me the file by email and we will help you get to the bottom of this
     
  10. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Actually I believe now it could be a problem with the EXE compression on that version, so when you email us we will send you a different EXE. You may just be lucky enough to be the first to try PE 2.100 Beta version early next week :) it will be out very soon anyway
     
  11. share666

    share666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I have sent urlmon.dll by separate email. Thanks for your persistency.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.