urgent help please,no screensaver tab in display properties

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by cet, Nov 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Today I found out that I no more have the screensaver tab under display properties.I googled and read some pages and they all write about the registry [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System]
    "NoDispScrSavPage"=dword:00000000 change the value from 1 to 0 to enable the tab.
    But there is nothing like this line in my registry.Also the screensaver is active after 10 min of idle.But I cant see the tab.I am the administrator.No 0ne uses my PC.Please help.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    See number 285 on the right side of this page. http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

    Copy and save the contents of the tip to notepad and your desktop, and call it "fix.reg". Double click the .reg file to enter the contents into your registry.
     
  3. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I did .I was using zune theme and now I got the classical win theme.BUT no screensaver tab.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you go back to an earlier time with system restore?
     
  5. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I tried 2 restore points no luck.but the screensaver is working .I dont understand
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
  7. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I did.No luck.Everything working normal,why this happened I dont know.My suspection:I uninstalled OA free 18 and installed OA free 31.Maybe it happened after this.Maybe there are others who have the same problem but are not aware of it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2007
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Take a look at this link. billjr
     
  9. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I have already read that article before posting here.Anyway it is 3 AM now,I have to sleep.Thanks for your help ,I will be happy if you can help me tomorrow.I checked all the registry values.Strangely screensaver is working without the tab.
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Maybe the fix will appear in a dream. :D
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    I've been beta testing OA thru thick and thin and nothing like this occurred.

    Pete
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Along the line's of what's been happening here Cet, plus a few pointer's not covered elsewhere.

    http://www.computing.net/windowsxp/wwwboard/forum/132440.html

    I understand from your first post the value under current user wasn't present. Fix 285 handles that but not the entry for local machine. No reason you coulden't go ahead and add it per Ron's BillJr. link; Manual Steps Using REG ADD. You'd only need to execute the second having run those reg files.

    Wrap's removed:

    REG ADD "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System" /v NoDispScrSavPage /t REG_DWORD /d 0

    REG ADD "HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System" /v NoDispScrSavPage /t REG_DWORD /d 0

    Reboot suggested.


    GF
     
  13. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I did no tab again.I went further and tried step 3 in billjr link.I cant have my screensaver tab back.I am pulling out my hair.In a few days I may get bald.
     
  14. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Maybe I could use a screensaver control program.Any advice?
    But I really would like to learn why my tab is missing.
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Did you try any of the obscure (not so common) suggestion's at computing Cet?

    GF
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2007
  16. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Sorry but I dont understand what you mean.My English may not be good enough to understand.
     
  17. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Did you have a particular "wallpaper" entry down there Cet? Something like c:\bm.bmp?

    GF
     
  18. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    As you see the screen saver is active.Also I checked the other values nothing unusual.I am scanning with the nod online scanner nothing so far.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    and this one
     

    Attached Files:

    • new.jpg
      new.jpg
      File size:
      81.6 KB
      Views:
      4
  20. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    I have another regfile possibility but don't have window's booted atm. A closer look will have to wait till later.
    This does however, as you also suspect, suggest some intruder tampering.

    GF
     
  21. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    As Globalforce asked earlier, have you checked both locations below in the registry?

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Policies\System

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Policies\System

    create or modify dword value called "NoDispScrSavPage"
    Set its value to 0 for disable
    restart window for setting to take effects

    If these settings are present and correct then it may be time to post a Hijackthis log in an appropriate forum.
     
  22. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I may post to a forum.
     
  23. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2007
  24. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I posted my hijack this file on castle cops.But I am sure my PC is clean.But who knows?
     
  25. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.