Upgrading to True Image 11 Killed my OS Partition

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jasondunn, Sep 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I installed TrueImage 11 a few days ago, rebooted as requested, and everything was fine. Last night I set up a scheduled backup of the C: drive to my D: drive - it seemed to work fine. This morning I rebooted and immediately after rebooting it suddenly couldn't find my OS! The error is:

    "Unable to load operating system. Press <ENTER> to reboot".

    When I press F11 and load up the TrueImage on the hard drive, it says that my C: drive is "None" and the type is "FS: None Partition: 0x7(NTFS, HPF).

    Any ideas?

    I'm hoping for some help in this forum because $29.99 per support incident for a product that I paid $39 for seems rather silly. :eek:
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2007
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    What OS are you using (XP, Vista, etc.)?

    Did you create a TI CD using Acronis Media Builder?

    if so, can you boot to it and Validate the backup image you created?

    Some computer specs may also be helpful (brand, model, ram, cpu, chipset, etc.).
     
  3. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Vista (Ultimate).

    I created a new disc when I installed TrueImage 11, but I haven't tried it yet - right now I have the TrueImage 10 Secure Zone loaded on my D: drive and I'm looking at it from that. I've also booted using Disk Director Suite and looking at my C: drive I see "File System Error: Invalid Format". This is so bizarre.

    I'll give that a try. I don't want to lose the partition and the work I did this morning, but it seems like I don't have much of a choice.

    Intel's Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU & D975XBX2 Motherboard. 3 GB RAM. The drive in question with the "missing OS" is a Western Digital Raptor X (150 GB).
     
  4. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    The irony of needing to use TrueImage to recover from a failure caused (or it seems that way) by TrueImage is not lost on me... :rolleyes:
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Since you have DD, did you boot to it and check if the Partition Recovery Wizard can repair your partition?

    Will DD let you explore the partition?

    Can you post a screenshot of what DD shows for the partition table?
     
  6. CorkyG

    CorkyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    126
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Boot with your Vista DVD and do a repair install. It takes a few minutes only. The boot partition boundaries probably need to be redefined. This was a common problem with Vista and version 10 - but I have not seen it with version 11.
     
  7. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I was initially very excited when I saw you mention this (I can't believe I didn't think of it!) but my hopes were crushed - the Vista DVD doesn't see any installed versions of Vista under the System Recovery options. This is a standard SATA hard drive, not part of a RAID array, so I have no drivers to load. It somehow can't "see" it. :blink:
     
  8. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Ok, I clicked NEXT in the Vista repair console, even though it couldn't see an install of Vista, and tried a general repair. It found a corrupt boot sector (or something similar) and rebooted - and Vista booted. Hooray! That's so much for suggesting this.

    Now I'm staring at an error about C:\Windows\system32\newdev.dll - it's saying that "A dynamic link library (DLL) initialization routine failed."

    But it seems to be booting, so I can try a system restore.

    Thanks everyone! This forum is evidently much more helpful than Acronis support is. ;)
     
  9. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    This is now comical. I've given up fixing the install of Vista and am instead going to restore from my backup last night. As a last-ditch effort I'm trying to grab some files that were updated this morning, basically the only thing new on the machine since the backup from last night. I've tried twice now, and each time TrueImage 11 (off the boot CD I made) locks up when trying to create the TIB file from the directory I've selected. Locked up so bad there's no way to cancel the operation - I'm having to punch the reset button on my computer.

    I popped in the disc for TrueImage 10, and guess what? It was able to back up the directory without any problem.

    I've always upgraded to the newest version of TrueImage as soon as it's come out, but I'm definitely feeling burned by this situation and will be waiting at least a few months until upgrading to the next version of TrueImage. I hate paying for being a beta tester! :cautious:
     
  10. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I don't see how just installing TI would have altered your ability to boot, unless you've either made a secure zone or possibly invoked recovery manager. The latter does make an alteration in the boot sector.

    I'm not familiar with Vista, so don't know if newdev.dll is a Microsoft one and if so what other applications might hook into it.

    Which really is of not much help except, that I'm not certain that TI would have been the original culprit.

    Colin
     
  11. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I'll continue to heap misery upon this thread: after a restore of the validated Windows Vista image from last night, created with TrueImage 11, my system is still completely screwed.

    After the restore, I get the same errors about a missing OS - the Vista repair process fixes the boot record problems, Vista boots up, and I see the login screen. After logging in, however, I get the same newdev.dll error. I see only a black screen. Interestingly enough, it loads enough to have downloaded a Windows Update patch. I tried doing a remote desktop into the computer, but the remote desktop only gives me the same black screen. It's incredibly bizarre. I'm now going to see if I can figure out this newdev.dll issue and perhaps rescue myself, because my TrueImage "backup" is completely useless.

    TrueImage is supposed to protect from exactly this scenario, and instead it's completely failed me. :(
     
  12. jasondunn

    jasondunn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Yes, I had a secure zone set up with Acronis TrueImage 10. I uninstalled TrueImage 10 and installed v11, then all these problems started. I find it very unlikely that a system that's been stable for months would suddenly develop a corrupt boot record shortly after installing TrueImage 11.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.