Upgrading SSD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by CherokeeSix, Jun 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CherokeeSix

    CherokeeSix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    I am trying to upgrade my ASUS EEEPC 900's 16g SSD with a RunCore 32 g SSD. I first attached the 32g SSD with a toggle to the AUS via a USB port. I then used Acronis True Image Home 2009 to Clone the C: SSD, removed the 16g SSD and replaced it with the 32g SSD. However the ASUS won't boot off of the 32g SSD. If I go into Admnistrative Tools; Computer Management; Storage; Disk Management both SSD's look the same with the exception the 16g SSD is label "C:" and the 32g SSD is labeled "D:" and the 16g SSD "Status" is "Healthy(System)" and the 32g SSD's "Status" is "Healthy(Active)". I am worried about changing the drive letters for fear if the 32g SSD will not boot up I can't get back in Administrative Tools to change the drive letters back to the original config.

    Does anybody have any suggestions?
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Are both drives showing as bootable?

    What happens if you just have the 32GB installed by itself?
     
  3. CherokeeSix

    CherokeeSix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    I removed the 16g SSD. Are you referring to 2 partitions on the 32g SSD? I assumed the Acronis cloning function would handle that. I can tell you that in Adminitrative both drives look identical.

    Thanks for your help with this.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    What OS are you using? If Vista, it might need to have a repair install run as it's files may no longer be where it thought they were.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    CherokeeSix,

    You should be doing a reverse clone where the new SSD is seen in its correct geometry during the clone. Delete the partitions from the new SSD. Install the 32 GB SSD inside the netbook and have the 16 GB SSD attached via USB. Boot from TI media and perform the clone. Make sure the old SSD is detached before the first boot from the new SSD. You don't want the old OS being seen by the new OS on the first boot.

    How to boot TI from boot media may be an issue as it will have to be USB flash drive or USB CD drive.
     
  6. CherokeeSix

    CherokeeSix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    I am running XP.

    Unfortunately, the 16g SSD does not have a connect to allow me to attach it to a USB port.

    What is a reverse clone?
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    A reverse clone is the opposite of a standard clone where the old HD is mounted internally. Standard clones often lead to failure as you have found.

    As you can't do a reverse clone you can use images. Delete the partitions from your new SSD. Attach a USB external HD to your netbook. Using TI, create images of the two partitions on your old drive, writing the images to the external HD. Remove the old drive and replace it with the new drive. Boot from TI and restore the images to the new drive.

    See GroverH's guides if you need help. (in his signature)
     
  8. CherokeeSix

    CherokeeSix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks I will give it a try. (I assume TI is True Image?)
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes. See GroverH's guides. They are very helpful for what you will be doing.
     
  10. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    While it's been a while since I ran a clone, virtually all that I've done have been the standard style. None have failed.

    I've generally not booted from a TI CD, but initiated cloning from a Windows session/then allowed TI to restart to the cloning environment. From there, it was, (1) allow TI to clone the internal drive to the new external hardware, (2) turn off the system at the completion of the cloning process, (3) depending on my objective, I either remove and store the external clone or replace the internal drive with the newly prepared clone, (4) restart the system with (depending what was done in (3)) either the original drive as it was or the new drive having physically replaced the original drive. Only one of the drives is attached to the system at restart.

    Blue
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Blue, I guess I just read about the failures and not the successes. Because of 240 heads CHS geometry, I'm advised that IBM, Lenovo, HP and Compaq laptops need a reverse clone. What brand is your laptop?
     
  12. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Been primarily desktops, on the laptop side - Dell Inspiron 8600. Stock vanilla configuration/XP Pro.

    Blue
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  14. CherokeeSix

    CherokeeSix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Brian,

    Since I can't connect the original 16g SSD after installing the new 32g SSD, could I copy or clone (I am not sure what to do here or what software to use to accomplish this task) to a 16g jump drive and with the 32 g SSD installed clone the jump drive to the 32g SSD. If yes, how would I do this?
    Thanks.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    CherokeeSix,

    With the 16 GB drive in the netbook, attach your USB flash drive. Using True Image, create a whole drive image or an image of each partition, writing the images to your USB flash drive. GroverH has good instructions. See his signature.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=246281

    Now remove the 16 GB drive and replace it with the 32 GB drive. Boot from True Image boot media and restore the image. But to boot from TI you will need a USB CD drive or bootable USB flash drive containing TI. Damn netbooks.
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Why won't the 16 GB drive connect to the USB port toggle?
     
  17. CherokeeSix

    CherokeeSix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Brian,

    I downloaded GroverH's guide. Thanks for the link. If I understand you correctly, I check the 16g drive box for whole drive copy. I partitioned the 32g the same as the 16g (the C: partiton is obviously larger) with the 2nd partition being 24MB (same as 16g). When restoring will the TI restore function restore the correct partitions?

    Also does it matter that the USB flash drivbe is formatted FAT when all else is NTFS?

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If you are using a whole drive image, leave the 32 GB drive empty. No partitions. They will be wiped out anyway. You can adjust partition sizes at restore time.

    No problem. But you will get multiple .tib files (2 GB splits probably) because of the FAT file size limitation.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    CherokeeSix,

    I looked at the CHS geometry of an Asus netbook with a SATA HD. I know you have a SSD. The geometry was 1024, 214, 54. Quite different from a USB HD which is 1024, 255, 63. I think we are going to see a lot of failed conventional clones to USB enclosure HDs with netbooks.
     
  20. CherokeeSix

    CherokeeSix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks to everyone who helped me with this problem. The problem turned out to be the BIOS version. I downloaded the latest BIOS version and all worked fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.