Upgrading NOD

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Ohdarn, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohdarn

Ohdarn Registered Member

Hello,

First I want to say I am new to NOD and still in 30 day trial. Before I decided on NOD I tested it in an old machine along with other products.

Then when I decided I liked it I put it in my computers and others as well. Going to purchase many licenses.

Here are my questions. When I first tested the product I was at Release 4.0.x and then when I actually installed it in my real machine I found the install was 4.2.35.0. That was only two weeks ago. Now I am seeing that there is even another higher release number.

How often am I gong to have to do a program update?

Also do I have to uninstall and reinstall NOD every time the program gets updated?

I really do not want to be uninstalling and reinstalling constantly as I just do not have the time for that. NOD should allow an in place update as long as you don't change major versions.

Thanks

Last edited: Apr 13, 2010
  2. doktornotor

doktornotor Registered Member

Pretty much never, they don't force you. They rarely issue a PCU which can do automatic upgrade if you enabled that in configuration.

No, you don't have to uninstall anything, not even b/w major versions (3.0.xxx -> 4.0.xxx no uninstall was required).

Edit: Also, for "many licenses", you'd be better off buying the business version and maintaining that centrally via ERAC.

3. Ohdarn

Ohdarn Registered Member

Thanks for the reply, I just want to get correct with this. I have read the entire manual but may have missed something as I am at a very busy time at one of my jobs that closes this week for the summer. Anyway I just want to understand, to do a program update did I miss something in the manual.

Do I have to download the installer from the website and install it over the current product or can I update from within the program itself manually at my choosing?