upgrading from win98se to xp pro

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by BLAISE_81, Apr 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BLAISE_81

    BLAISE_81 Guest

    i am currently using win98se and i have xp pro cd [ full package ]

    so can i install xp pro over win98se or not ? or should i need

    a new hard drive for it
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Some reading here;

    http://reviews-zdnet.com.com/4520-3000_16-5117047-1.html
    http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_9xupgrade.asp
    http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article/0,aid,78043,pg,2,00.asp
    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1659

    You can install XP over Win98 but you need a lot of free space on your hard disc; at least 1.5 GB, but 3Gb recommended.

    But make sure your computer meets the minimum requirements of WinXP. Apart from needing a lot more hard drive space than Win98, it is very demanding in terms of memory etc. You will need a minimum of 256MB RAM even with all the fancy "effects" of XP turned off.
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Nahh....I've gotten XP Pro to run darn fine enough on a P3 with 128MB of RAM (its my friends PC) - and no additional tweaking.

    Yes, it is possible to upgrade Windows 98SE to Windows XP. However, you may need to reinstall some of your programs and/or drivers :)
     
  4. BLAISE_81

    BLAISE_81 Guest

    i have 80 gb space and 250 mb ram is it ok for win xp pro and i

    have another question after install xp can i install SP2 over it ?
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Yes it should be good enough to run Windows XP Professional.

    And Yes, you can install SP2 over it, but beware, SP2 has caused a lot of problems to many users, although many others don't have any problems at all.......:eek: *creepy* :D
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    But it will run even faster if you add more memory and carry out some tweaking ;)

    Since you have sufficient Hard Drive space, another possibility would be to dual-boot the 2 Operating systems, if you partition your drive.
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Yup, dual-booting is reommended since WinXP has a few problems with some programs released before 2000.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.