upgrading from win98se to xp pro

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by BLAISE_81, Apr 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BLAISE_81

    BLAISE_81 Guest

    i am currently using win98se and i have xp pro cd [ full package ]

    so can i install xp pro over win98se or not ? or should i need

    a new hard drive for it
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Some reading here;

    http://reviews-zdnet.com.com/4520-3000_16-5117047-1.html
    http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_9xupgrade.asp
    http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article/0,aid,78043,pg,2,00.asp
    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1659

    You can install XP over Win98 but you need a lot of free space on your hard disc; at least 1.5 GB, but 3Gb recommended.

    But make sure your computer meets the minimum requirements of WinXP. Apart from needing a lot more hard drive space than Win98, it is very demanding in terms of memory etc. You will need a minimum of 256MB RAM even with all the fancy "effects" of XP turned off.
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,053
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Nahh....I've gotten XP Pro to run darn fine enough on a P3 with 128MB of RAM (its my friends PC) - and no additional tweaking.

    Yes, it is possible to upgrade Windows 98SE to Windows XP. However, you may need to reinstall some of your programs and/or drivers :)
     
  4. BLAISE_81

    BLAISE_81 Guest

    i have 80 gb space and 250 mb ram is it ok for win xp pro and i

    have another question after install xp can i install SP2 over it ?
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,053
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Yes it should be good enough to run Windows XP Professional.

    And Yes, you can install SP2 over it, but beware, SP2 has caused a lot of problems to many users, although many others don't have any problems at all.......:eek: *creepy* :D
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    But it will run even faster if you add more memory and carry out some tweaking ;)

    Since you have sufficient Hard Drive space, another possibility would be to dual-boot the 2 Operating systems, if you partition your drive.
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,053
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Yup, dual-booting is reommended since WinXP has a few problems with some programs released before 2000.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.