Upgrading from NOD32 v3.0.684.0 to NOD32 AV version 4

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Alith, Mar 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    Please forgive me if this info is posted elsewhere. I tried knowledgebase and these forums but could not find it. What is the best way to upgrade? Uninstall old version, reboot then go into 'Program Files’ and delete the ‘ESET’ folder and the ESET On Line scanner folder? Reboot and install new version? Can the settings of version 3 be imported to version 4? Or is it best to start fresh?
     
  2. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Hello,

    I had exactly the same questions for the same process... I received some answers but I had mainly to organize my self...

    Well, some answers :
    1) What is the best way to upgrade from EAV 3.0.684 to EAV 4.0.
    Surely, You should uninstal v3.0384 and deeply clean your computer. I mean, after uninstallation, to search for ESET or NOD32 folders and to delete them...
    You could use Ccleaner and regcleaner to clean temporary files and folders and registry keys...

    Normally, installation of EAV 4.0 should be as easier as for previous releases...

    2) v3.0 configuration importation.
    Normaly, that should work but I would prefer to start with fresh configuration. Personaly I used default settings and the only configuration I did was regarding internet browsers and pop3 clients settings. I configured email notification and I protected configuration with password (because of multi users PC). Then, I exported my configuration....


    Everything work fine with all of my PCs (except some problems due to an old vintage PC, that is under investigation)

    Regards
     
  3. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    Thank you for your reply. I'll give it a try later.
     
  4. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello Alith,

    We have tested and verified that users can install V4 over V3.0. You will need to restart your machine after the installation.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  5. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    Thanks Richard. I did end up uninstalling v3 then installing v4. I was tempted to try importing my settings saved when I had v3, but I thought some of the added features might mess that up. Generally I start fresh when an app has an upgrade, and only sometimes do I install over old version of app if it's just a build change. Good to know anyway. Thanks.
     
  6. goran_larsson

    goran_larsson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Yes but besides the restart theres a ton of settings that doesn't transfer over from v3 to 4, I asked my local dealer/support about this and they told me there should not be a problem but after some machines have transitioned over to v4 I found out that it may no have been such a good idea after all.

    I do lack some serious documentation rather that the try and error method, I mean the corporate and business support is under developed and I send tons of erranous behaviour to the local support and I never get a feedback and I rareley get a solution, sorry but I am kind of frustrated here.

    Anyway all of this will eventually boil down to wheter or not we will renew and or extend our 500 computer clients license I guess I will have to take that discussion then but I'm afraid I won't be able to convince the management to re-invest in eset.

    /Göran
     
  7. STRYDER

    STRYDER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    I just created a .xml with all the settings so i can import them whenever i need to.
     
  8. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    I did that after installation and setting my preferences.
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This is news, it was generally construed that a full uninstall and re-install was required plus the requisite reboots in between.
     
  10. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    Why doesn't ESET place the instructions regarding upgrade procedure (latest 3.0 version to the current 4.0 one) in the knowledge base? That the basic question-answer pair!!!!! "Surely, You should uninstal v3.0384 and deeply clean your computer. I mean, after uninstallation, to search for ESET or NOD32 folders and to delete them... You could use Ccleaner and regcleaner to clean temporary files and folders and registry keys..." What please o_O ESET will motivate this way the users to do upgradeo_O?!!!!!! That's incredible!!!!!! "Normaly, that should work but I would prefer to start with fresh configuration...." If that all is true I looking immediately for EAV32 replacement! If my work and my time is nothing worth for ESET then ESET's products are nothing worth for me!!!! In this situation please don't wonder I still live with 3.0.
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  12. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    We have a Knowledgebase article about upgrading from an earlier version of an ESET security product to a later version here:
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN552

    Thanks,
    Richard
     
  13. chrizio

    chrizio Guest


    Pretty complicated procedure. No, not the upgrade procedure but the other one recommended by ESET in prior of upgrade - clean uninstall.

    Keep in mind please that for a just ordinary user the AV/AM solution is not the goal of his/her life. It is just a tiny tool. In such a case users expect minimal overhead produced by AV/AM solution. This overhead is expected to be as minimal as not perceptible. Only PC freaks will enjoy troubleshooting or time consuming configuration job. For all others guys/girls own tasks have the priority.

    EAV configuration as presented by current installations are in most cases a result of long-term evaluation. It can take some years to achieve a config optimal for given user/situation. Nobody is able to reproduce this configuration manually. Except for importing is possible. Now ESET requires to do a clean uninstall in prior of starting the upgrade procedure. Is this the way you want to motivate the users to do the upgrade?

    If my time and my work is worthless for ESET then ESET products are worthless for me.
     
  14. kiyotey

    kiyotey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    I made the costly mistake of attempting to uninstall my Eset NOD32 Antivirus v.3.0 using a third party uninstaller (uninstall Tool) and then could not reinstall versions 3.0 or 4.0 after having done so. I kept getting an error window with the error code 2753

    Located on ESET'S website are two webpages that discuss how to properly remove any of the remaining files associated with the software that may have been left behind. I should mention that I am running Windows XP
    and the following examples are for removing these files from Windows XP, however instructions on ESET'S website are also given for doing so if running
    Microsoft VISTA.

    The first webpage link from their support page is on: How do I manually uninstall my ESET security product? (3.0)
    and is loacetd at: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN558

    It simply explains how to Find and delete the following registry keys:

    -HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ESET
    -HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ESET

    Find and delete the following registry value:

    -HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\egui

    and then to Navigate to the C:\WINDOWS\inf folder and delete the INFCACHE.1 file.

    The webpage then gives instruction to:

    Restart the computer. Once the computer has restarted, delete the system-appropriate folders below:

    Windows XP users:

    C:\Program Files\ESET
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET
    C:\Documents and Settings\%USER%\Application Data\ESET


    I had done this and yet still recieved the error code 2753


    It wasn't untill I located a second ESET Support website on:

    How do I manually uninstall my ESET security product?


    located at: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289&actp=LIST_RECENT

    that instructed on how to download an ESETUninstaller program and running it from SAFE MODE to completely remove any ESET Files that may be remaining after doing an unsuccessfull uninstall of the software.

    After following these instructions of running the ESETUninstaller in SAFE MODE, rebooting, and redownloading ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4.0
    did I finally install the software successfully.

    I would only like to add that ESET recommends only using their uninstaller
    that comes with the software when attempting to uninstall the software from your computer and NOT using Windows ADD/REMOVE Programs to do so. Had I done so in the first place I'm sure I wouldn't have been in this mess.
     
  15. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    Many guys refuse to upgrade EAV from 3.x to 4.x
    due to huge effort such upgrade produces.
    Yes, it indeed generates huge effort because
    it requires the clean install.
    No one of normal users is able to reproduce own NOD32 settings
    manually.
    Normally they evolute over a long time, in manner one time setting A,
    some time later setting B, etc...

    Don't forget please, the personalization is a holiness.
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I uninstalled V3 and was asked if I wanted to retain my settings. I said yes, and then installed v4 with no problems. However, on bootup v4 goes through a scan that is tedious to wait for, so after a couple of weeks I went back to v3.0.684.0. Other than the whirling eye icon I don't see anything I need that v3 doesn't have. ;)
     
  17. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    The big v4 feature is self-protection, which is very useful if you are running with admin rights on XP since something that passes through the filters could drop a payload that disables your real-time protection. v4 by default does a quick scan of operating memory and startup programs each time the system starts, and then at subsequent ones upon updating or a user logon event. v3 does these exact same thing, but there was no gui feedback to indicate it (in this case, the spinning systray icon and alt-text).
     
  18. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    The only way I could get v4 to not hang my system at startup is to only use the schedule for log maintenance and regular automatic update. I unchecked the system startup file check scans and the user logon automatic update.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.