Upgrade to build TI8.0(771) and Secure Zone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cjtc, Sep 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cjtc

    cjtc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Does Uninstall trash the Secure Zone?

    I've just purchased TI 8.0, being a refugee from PowerQuest V2i Protector (don't want to know since they were bought out by Syamntec!).

    Originally loaded build 768 (installed on my e: drive, which is were all my non-OS programs go). Kept some backups in the Secure Zone and all went well.

    Then downloaded and installed build 771 over the top. All of a sudden, TI didn't run any more because the RPC service wasn't available!

    So, uninstalled completely and installed build 771 (again on E:) from scratch. Now works OK.

    The point is, when I did the uninstall of 768 (which was the only way to successfully upgrade to 771), the uninstaller seemed to force me to delete my Secure Zone! This ain't good, since I then lost all my images, which was the last thing I wanted!

    Is there a way around this? Is it possible to uninstall TI, keep the SZ and then have it rediscovered by the new install of TI?

    TIA
    Chris
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.