Upgrade question, XP to Vista

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by nikheff, Jun 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nikheff

    nikheff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Independence, Missouri
    Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know--Vista? It's the intermediary step to installing Win 7 on my secondary PC. At any rate, during Vista install it created a "Windows.old" folder, which it said it was going to do during install. Is it safe or wise to delete this folder, and can it even be deleted? I'm guessing it's taking up a lot of hard drive space.

    Help is appreciated, and thanks in advance.
     
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,128
    Location:
    USA
    I believe it's safe in the sense that Vista is not depending on it to work properly. I would wait a while, make sure everything is working properly, do a data backup, and image the disk.

    Check Disk Cleanup to see if deleting the old OS files is a listed category. If so you can let the OS remove it. Otherwise I would turn off the recycle bin and delete it manually.

    By the way, I always felt that Vista SP2 worked just fine. Windows 7 is an improvement, but only incrementally and mostly in the GUI.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'd agree with that in the main, although IMHO Vista eats a lot of RAM.
     
  4. nikheff

    nikheff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Independence, Missouri
    Thank you for your reply. I'm leaning towards your second sentence to "wait a while....." My data is on another drive, but I will make a system image with Acronis before doing anything.
     
  5. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    +1
    SP2 is a huge improvement over the original Vista and I can't say I've noticed a lot of difference in performance between it and 7 personally.
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    It can be deleted, but I agree with Victek123 you may as well wait for a while just in case you might need something. My best machine runs on Vista64 perfectly, I've tried Win 7 for a week, and it was basically the same OS, Vista uses a bit more RAM (550 MB Win 7, 650-700 Vista, both 32 bit).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.