Upgrade policy from ATI version 8 to version 11?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by zoril, Nov 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zoril

    zoril Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Posts:
    243
    Hi there:)

    I currently use ATI version 8 (build 937)... I find it to be very stable however I may shortly upgrade my O/S from Windows XP (SP2) to Vista.

    1.) Is there a discount policy should I upgrade to version 11 from the official Acronis site?

    2.) Do you recommend uninstalling the old version first before installing the new should I decide to upgrade?

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Howard
     
  2. 1wolf

    1wolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Niagara Falls, NY
    I wouldn't waste your money on TI11, not ready for prime time. If TI8 works for you, I would stay with that version. TI11 sucks, just plain sucks...............
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    And before you jump into version 11, check whether the version 8 Rescue CD doesn't have the capability to carry out the basic Backup, Recovery, and Clone functions on a Vista system. I know the software probably would not be able to be installed on Vista, but the Rescue CD usually doesn't care what kind of OS is on the hard drive.
     
  4. pipelineaudio

    pipelineaudio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    How is ten? Any major booboos?
     
  5. zoril

    zoril Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Posts:
    243
    After some initial teething problems with earlier builds I always have been very happy with version 8 (build 937). It has never failed me and has always been very stable and reliable....

    The problem is if I do decide to get Vista I don't think that it will work with version 8, so either I need to upgrade or go for a totally different image backup solution like Shadow Protect.


    Howard:)
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    While 10 might work on some of the newer hardware setups, it works well on most, including many that 11 can't handle even after two public releases of 11. Acronis releases a new versin of ATI every year, apparently come heck or high water. With the premature release of 11, Acronis really did a terrific misstep. In the book, The Right Stuff, this kind of misstep was called, to put it slightly more politely, getting caught abusing the pooch.

    Definitely try version 11 before you buy it. You might find that you can backup but not restore your drives -- a problem I and others have diff machines -- which makes 11 pretty much useless for many folks that have purchased it. It does work on many hardware setups albeit with numerous noncritical bugs like misperforming progress bars, inability to do file by file backups even thous image backups work, and a number of lesser issues.

    Acronis continues to work of fixing 11 and allows you the opportunity to try the prog for free. If you can find 10, you'll probably be better off, at least until a fixed 11 is released and provided your machine is not one of those with hardware that came out in the last year or so.

    good luck,
    sh
     
  7. Ray Clare

    Ray Clare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    Vista will definitely warn you about incompatibilities with Version 8. Though it will install, I just couldn't make myself feel I could rely on it. I'm told that Vista handles the disks differently, sector boundaries and such. I don't have any need to become expert, and the upgrade to 11 was $30 on the website, so I did. It installed and with one quirk, has run very well and reliable on my Vista Home Basic machine.

    Frankly, I don't use most of the bells and whistles, so these folks may well be right in their concerns if they use them. I make a full backup each weekday into a folder on an external USB drive. They are seven different tasks labeled Monday, Tuesday.... (Clever aren't I? :)) The point is I always have one week backed up. The next week just starts over and overwrites the previous.

    Its one quirk is the progress indicator only works sometimes, actually most times, and I've never seen a pattern to it I can detect. In any event the backups verify fine with the restore disk, and all is running well.

    Good luck. It's always a gamble changing your backup software. I have had excellent luck with Acronis for years now. Just one voice
     
  8. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183

    #10 works fine for me ! If it ain't broke , don't fix it. I took the new upgrade though but will save it/them for a newer computer. :D
     
  9. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Howard, if you're still comtemplating getting Ver 11 because of Vista, today I got a spare hard drive and installed Vista Ultimate on it. I made an Image of it with the Ver 8 build 937 Rescue CD then Restored the Image with the Rescue CD. When I booted the restored drive, of course I got the winload.exe error - it would have been a minor miracle if that didn't happen - but that was easily fixed with the "repair" feature via the Vista disc.

    Once the fix was completed, the drive booted into Vista Ultimate.

    Just thought you might be interested in the result.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello zoril,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that as you own an older version of Acronis True Image you can purchase an upgrade to Acronis True Image 11 Home instead of the full version. As the difference between versions is quite large, I would recommend you to uninstall version 8 before installing Acronis True Image 11 Home. Please notice that you will need both upgrade and version 8 serial numbers to install Acronis True Image 11 Home upgrade.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 11 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.