Upgrade from v3 to v4. How much?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Wallace, Mar 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wallace

    Wallace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    South Manchester, UK.
    I purchased ESET SS v3 last October with a 2 year sub. Whilst I am not expecting the update to v4 to be free, am I entitled to a discount on the purchase of v4? If so, how do I go about it please as the ESET website is not clear to me at all.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Cutter

    Cutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Version 4 is free if you paid for version 3, you don't have to pay anything extra, make sure you remove version 3 correctly and install version 4 with your current us and pw.
     
  3. Jasonman

    Jasonman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    but where can i find the V4 only for me that i have V3 ?? in the site eset.com says trial version 30 days and purchase ..what must i do??:rolleyes:
     
  4. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
  5. Jasonman

    Jasonman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    okay i downloaded .. But now he says that the web access protection is non-functional ... what is the problem for it??
     
  6. Wallace

    Wallace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    South Manchester, UK.
    Mission accomplished, v4 is now installed.

    Version3 was a pig to uninstall. It just would not go. In the end I booted Vista into safe mode and uninstalled from there.

    Also, web browsing seems MUCH slower with v4.

    I will give v4 some breathing space to allow me to get used to it, otherwise I will be going back to v3.
     
  7. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello Jasonman,

    This is because of the new Windows Filtering Platform (WFP) in Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1) to newer and in Windows Server 2008: http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device/network/wfp.mspx.

    The new WFP architecture is used to check network communication. Because the WFP technology uses special monitoring techniques, the Web Browsers and Protocol filtering sections are no longer available.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  8. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    So if I read your reply correctly all the time outs and very slow internet is the fault of Windows not ver4. Yet the same vista with ver3 is fast.

    Oh how I do like companies who bottle out of fixing their mistakes always, always blame somebody else.

    So my license will not be renewed if ESET stop supporting ver 3 as this is the ONLY version that works properly with the internet
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.