Upgrade from V11 to 2009???

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GirusVirus, Jul 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GirusVirus

    GirusVirus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Hi

    I am looking for advise on upgrading from version 11 to the latest and greatest 2009.

    First, the story: I originally got caugh up in the glamor of having the latests and greatest update and upgraded to version 2009 as soon as it came out, but emmediately I realized my mistake. I asked for a refund and went back to my old version 11, I also have version 10.

    The big question is; did Acronis fix most of the problems and issues that were raised as soon as it came out? In other words, what have the updates done to eliviate the problems. I have not been keeping up with this since I gave up on it almost emmediately. I am willing to wait for version 2010 if I have to.

    I am just checking because you never know, Acronis migh have gotten tired of issuing refunds.

    Any information will be appreciated. And I will keep on reading to see if I can fish it out myself.

    Thanks,
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello GirusVirus,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image Home 2009

    the best way is to install a trial version to check the functionality of the program. If the program runs flawless on your computer, please visit the Acronis online store available here.

    If you write out the issues you have experienced, we can check if they were resolved.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Don't bother with another trial of ATI 12/2009. Why put yourself through that? While a few fixes have been done, most probs/issues still exist and probably will never be fixed in ATI 12/2009 as Acronis is said to be gearing up to release version 13/2010.

    So if you're building courage to do another trial, you might as well wait a few more months until fall and try the next version -- it might be worth updating or you might find an earlier version remains the best product for your purposes.

    Note that Acronis traditionally does not announce release dates; howver, equally traditionally, it's released a new version of ATI, ready or not, ever fall for years.

    Actually, it appears the next "version" (Acronis® Backup & Recovery™ 10) is being released anon

    http://www.acronis.com/backup-recovery/?promo=generic&mid=2296&lid=3&uid=1721

    So the next ATI Home is probalby not far behind.

    Note that version numbering has gone backwards, back to 10.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2009
  4. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Dont bother upgrading to ATI 2009. I agree entirely with Shieber.

    The only reason to upgrade would be that your hardware is very new and does not work with the older Acronis versions.

    Save your money.
     
  5. AlanMintaka

    AlanMintaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NH
    I regretfully have to agree with the previous responses. I own ATI 11 and never got a successful backup with it. I upgraded from ATI 10 on the premise that 11 fixed the problems. I was wrong.

    Given the confusing release of Backup & Recovery 10, I would approach any upgrades with a great deal of caution. That includes version "2009".

    BTW at first I though Backup & Recovery was strictly a network product for enterprise solutions. But then I read this in the description:

    "Backup & Recovery™ 10 is the next generation disaster recovery product family, succeeding the Acronis® True Image product line."

    Well, if it's succeeding the ATI line, that means it's succeeding ATI 11. Makes no sense to me, though that doesn't mean there isn't some sort of explanation somewhere.

    BTW2: After failing to get a successful backup with ATI 10 and ATI 11, I went back to WinRAR, driven by batch script I wrote myself. Yeah, it's slow, and it requires a lot of spare disk space because of the way WinRAR uses temp files - but it's rock-solid reliable.

    Just my opinions, subject to correction by the Acronis folks if I said anything misleading about ATI. I couldn't have been more misleading that releasing a version 10 that succeeds ATI 11, though.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Backup & Recovery 10 is the next version of the corporate line of programs, not the home line. It replaces the Echo versions (9.5, 9.7, etc.).
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Thanks for the clarification, Mudcrab. It's something Acronis didn't try very hard to do. After the sticker price shock upon seeing the cost of ABR 10, one might suspect it was not meant for the home line of products. And if you read the promo carefully, that info is there.

     
  8. dvavra

    dvavra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I've just added two Vista machines: Dell Studio w/core 2 quad Vista Home Premium & Fedora 10 partitions, Dell Studios XPS w/Core i7 Vista Ultimate.

    The upgrade to Fedora 11 has serious problems so I decided to go back to Fedora 10. I had saved the partitions on the first machine to a network drive using Acronis 11. Acronis 11 said I had to reboot to recover it so I did. It crashed for unknown reasons. After three tries I made a rescue CD which, when booted, said I had no drives! It did the same on the XPS system. Both have SATA drives.

    I downloaded 2009 and installed it on the core 2 quad system. It blue screens at various times when I attempt to run it. The same is true on the XPS system.

    So, I now have useless backups. There isn't much to do with write only copies of partitions. I've wasted a whole day trying to recover the partition and apparently wasted my time making a copy of it in the first place.

    The last time I had a problem (with v11) Acronis gave me the run around. I'm giving them one more chance but I think I'm done with them.

    :mad:


    UPDATE: I tried the online tech service and got a new ISO download with updated drivers to fix the recovery issue. The tech rep was very helpful so maybe I'm not done with them. No answer on ATI 2009 problem just yet, though.

    UPDATE 2: for yucks, I tried running ATI 2009 again and got a stable execution. Used it to make a recovery disk which booted OK and successfully recovered the partitions saved on my network drive.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.