Updating?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by danny9, Apr 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Maybe it's just me but I can't figure this one out.
    Is there a way to update a snapshot to keep it current, outside of a schedule, which I can't get to work either.
    Would really appreciate any help on this one.
    Dan :cool:
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I know schedules are the worst part of FDISR, I've mentioned this many times at Wilders. Nobody really cared.

    AFAIK, a manual Copy/Update is the only alternative.
    Copy/Update FROM snapshot/archive TO (new)snapshot/(new)archive.

    A frozen snapshot is also based on an automatic invisible Copy/Update FROM archive TO snapshot.
    But a frozen snapshot is a total different world, than a normal snapshot. :)

    Maybe you can contact Raxco, to find other possible alternatives.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,050

    Just in case. The snapshot you are in is always current. You use the copy/update to make other snapshots the same as the one you are in

    Pete
     
  4. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Are you saying the current snapshot updates itself?
    Then by copying it makes the others up to date?
    If that's the case then the solution was easier then I thought.
    Guess I'm making things more complicated then they are.

    Thanks for the help.
    :thumb: to you all! :cool:
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Copy/update keeps EACH existing snapshot or archive up-to-date and those updatings are very fast, much faster than creating new snapshots or new archives.
     
  6. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Thanks again, this whole program is starting to make alot more sense now!
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    It takes time to learn FDISR, I'm still learning and I use it since march 2006. :)
     
  8. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    Kudos! This program is not only a time saver for recovery but my goodness the endless arrangments you can make with the snapshots gives a user a whole new freedom of expression if you ask me.

    Great piece of work of it's kind, bar none.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,050
    Danny

    Think of iit this way. The snapshot, say the primary, you are in is your computer. It's always up to date because any changes you make are there. Just like any computer. Your secondary snapshot is "another computer". When you do a copy/update from your primary to your secondary snapshots you are making "both computer" identical.

    Pete
     
  10. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Got it. I was making it more complicated then it was.
    Getting to like this program though.
    I did try the Rollback rx with the instant snapshot. It did work well for me.
    But their games for getting a discount was a real turnoff.
    Someone here said it was a red flag, and it is.
    Just as well though, cause I came back to finish my trial and I'm glad I did.
    Alot more options and it does run alot lighter.
    I have 3 days left and will be buying in the next couple of days.
    And Kudos to the people here in this forum.
    All have been most helpful.
    Thanks, Dan :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.