Updating to version 4.0.437

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by sgteo, May 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sgteo

    sgteo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there,

    I currently am using nod32 anti-virus v 4.0.424.0. Would the program automatically update to the latest version or do I have to uninstall and reinstall the program again?
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    No , it won't update automatically . If you want the newest build , download it , run the installer and perfrom the upgrade (manually) . Reboot the entire machine afterwards.
     
  3. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    The ESET software does not currently provide program component updates. So just as ASpace has said, you will need to download the newest version from the website and then uninstall your current version and then install the new one.
     
  4. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Is the 4.0.437 small enough to install over the top of 4.0.424, or do I have to uninstall .424 first? :)
     
  5. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    I just installed .437 over .424 on my machines and have zero issues to report as a result. At 34MB, I wouldn't say .437 is "small" though. ;)
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Holy harddrives Batman! v3.687 was 20MB, v424 is 30MB, and v437 is 34MB. What are they building? :blink:
     
  7. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, no clue on that. Frankly, I'm still working on why ESS is (or at least appears to be) exactly the same size d/l as EAV. o_O
     
  8. gugarci

    gugarci Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    288
    Location:
    Jersey
    I also pounded 4.0.437 over the top of 4.0424 have had no issues.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2009
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Same here, assuming one gets the retain current settings prompt, you're good to go :thumb:
     
  10. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    just install it over previous build, no need to uninstall.
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    In case you get no fresh signatures after update and reboot - press F5 -> Update -> Clear Cache and fetch again.
     
  12. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    I'm glad that the messages following yours report that they successfully installed build 437 "on top of" build 424.

    However, the download site http://www.eset.com/download/registered_software.php does state:

    "Important:
    Before installing, we recommend uninstalling your current protection (including older versions of ESET software), to ensure a smooth transition. . . ."

    Roger Folsom

    P.S. On the download site given above, if you click on the 4.0.437 link, you will get a list of fixes in 4.0.437 since build 424.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2009
  13. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, that's the official policy statement and the procedure officially recommended by ESET. Regardless, many of us have "pounded new builds right over the top" of previous builds and never experienced any issues. YMMV, of course, and if you're more comfortable following the recommended procedure, so be it.

    As far as I'm concerned, I'll continue to install over as I really don't see any reason not to do so. After all, if I experience any anomalies, I figure I can always go the uninstall/re-install route.
     
  14. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello Sgteo,

    The difference between different builds of v4 (.424 to .437) is small and you are only recommended to download and install the latest build number if you are having problems with the build of v4 you are currently using. As long as you are using v4 (the latest version) and it's working normally then there's no reason to update to the absolute latest build of v4. The difference between the builds is usually just minor fixes to glitches only a handful of users may be experiencing. For these reasons, ESET doesn't push these build updates as mandatory auto updates. However since v4 is a new release, you might want to consider upgrading to the latest build of v4 for increased performance, stability and bug fixes.

    Thus, if you want to update to the latest build you must manually download and install the latest build of v4 from ESET's website.

    You can either install it over the top which usually works or play it safe and avoid potential problems and remove it before reinstalling. I would download the setup file from the link above, remove the current installation of ESET NOD32 Antivirus

    (Start>All Programs>ESET>ESET NOD32 Antivirus>Uninstall. Restart computer. Delete ESET folder located in C:\Program Files)

    and then install the latest build of v4.

    If there is ever a major glitch that the majority of users experience, the fix for it will be considered a program component update (PCU) so all users will get it automatically. Updates to different modules of the program like the Antivirus and Antispyware Scanner module and the Virus Signature Database are given out automatically.

    Please let me know if this answers your question.

    Regards,

    Mark.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2009
  15. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    Sgteo:

    I have no quarrel with anything that xMarkX wrote in his excellent message 14 in this thread.

    However, with regard to his first sentence, "The difference between different builds of v4 (.424 to .437) is small," my own message 12's P.S. should have noted that there is a substantial quantity difference between builds 424 (the download is 30,875kb) and 437 (the download is 35,188kb). The fixes included in build 437 apparently required a substantial amount of code (and remember that download files usually are compressed, and I would assume that Eset's are also).

    That has encouraged me to replace build 424 with 437, rather than to install 437 "on top of" 424 --- although I haven't done so yet.

    Incidentally, when replacing other software with later versions (and I will do likewise with EsetNOD32v4), I usually do NOT delete the installation folder because mine always are customized. For example, my Build 424 is in C:\Program Files\Accessories\AntiVirus,AntiSpy-NOD32(Eset) --- that puts all of my security "Anti" software in the same location, and also keeps the Program Files folder itself from being unnecessarily lengthy. I'll want Build 437 to be in that same location. So instead of deleting that folder, I make sure it is absolutely empty, and then I reuse it. (In case the Build 437 doesn't let me pick a folder, I will save that path and folder name into Thornsoft's Clipmate, and then use it when given an opportunity to do so during the Build 437 installation.)

    Other Build 424 folders also need to be deleted (but these I would delete rather than merely emptying them because I don't think they are customizable and they may change locations between builds) before installing Build 437; see "How do I uninstall or re-install ESET Smart Security/ESET NOD32 Antivirus? (4.0)" at http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2116

    Best wishes

    Roger Folsom
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2009
  16. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello,

    Thanks for your reply. In regards to the difference among the builds, I was just talking in general - for the most part the different between the builds is small. However, since v4 is a newer product and ESET is still fixing some of its problems this build was bigger because they were probably fixing a lot of those problems that weren't fixed in earlier builds. New builds don't add new features (new versions handle this; e.g. v3 --> v4) or enchance detection of malware (new modules like the Antivirus and antispyware module handle this) they just fix bugs and other general things about the product. That's why ESET doesn't push new builds out automatically because not everyone experiences the bugs due to different system set-ups -- so "if it (your current build) ain't broken, don't (feel compelled to) fix it". (I'm still using v3 until v4 matures a bit more).

    In Sgteo's case, he is probably fine on his current build because he didn't say that he was having problems with his current build and just wants to know if it's necessary to have to manually update to the new build.

    For ESET's products, the recommended settings are the default settings which provide a good balance between performance and detection capabilities, but if you want to customize them to your liking and needs that's fine too.

    Regards,

    Mark.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2009
  17. sgteo

    sgteo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Mark,

    What constitutes a major glitch for the majority of users? The reason I updated to the latest version is because it fixed some problems with Thunderbird. Would that fix be considered a program component update?
     
  18. tese

    tese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    When is ESET going to provide program updates via its update servers?
    Why do we constantly have to update by installing the complete version over the existing version.

    This has been going on since Version 3!!!!

    Come on, ESET! Get with the game! All other antivirus vendors provide updates to the program via the autoupdate process.

    What are you guys scared of? In the past, you have already released several virus signature updates updates that have caused problems. Is that it? Are you scared of what may happen?

    How about better testing?

    But, at some point, you are going to have to provide your customers with easier upgrade mechanisms!
     
  19. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    It is impossible test everything!
    Especially in software where you can have a lot of OS's (different updates, tons of software you interact with).

    I would say that in case of antivirus this is true twice. They interact with programs in user mode and in kernel mode.

    If this will be implemented I think it should be optional with warnings!
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I second that. That's why, for instance, Microsoft doesn't push service packs to all users via automatic update immediately after the release. The vendors know best that there are millions of external variables that may affect the program and there's no chance to test the program in every single configuration people use. That's why a PCU to v. 3.0.684, which eventually turned out to work best in probably all configurations, is currently being staggered and distributed gradually to v3 users with older versions.
     
  21. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    We have over 600 PC's with Nod32. Each upgrade, on about 6 of them we have problems upgrading.

    For example, if I have Nod32 4.0.417 on a PC and I replace the MSI in c:\tempnod\ with the new MSI, then install the new 4.0.437, then on some of these PC's they error out trying to reference the 4.0.417 version of the MSI. (I don't do that now, I use different directories for the different MSI versions now.)

    590 other PC's didn't do this. But a few do. Why? No idea.

    Some end up in a state where NOD32 isn't installed, nor running, but the GUI is there and self protection is locking a few registry and file locations.

    That's about 1% of my PC's that have these odd issues. The other install just fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.