updates

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by greyowl, Dec 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. greyowl

    greyowl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Posts:
    85
    I am considering using SpywareBlaster. I have a dialup connection so it is slow in downloading. How large is the daily update approximately?

    I use Firefox with AdBlock and NoScript. Will Spyware Blaster provide much added protection?
     
  2. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
    yes..........
     
  3. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    With regard to your first question, SB def updates are typically once every week or two, not daily. And they're quite small, typically in the 25-50K range depending on number of new items, so are a snap even on dialup. Don't forget to enable all protection before shutting SB down after the update.
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Since SpywareBlaster have been more regular with their updates I have had far less tracking cookies. I usually do a SUPERAntiSpyware scan every month & sometimes don't find any tracking cookies at all these days.

    Until a few days ago I had MBAM as an on-demand scanner as well. After using it for about 13 months I have decided to uninstall it. I have SpywareBlaster, SAS & Windows Defender (as well as AV & a hardware firewall) & I regularly surf with K-Meleon with the javascript disabled (F7 toggles it on/off in KM). So I think that I am well covered. I was getting a little worried about MBAM's updating gremlins & false positives anyway.
     
  5. greyowl

    greyowl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Posts:
    85
    Daveski17,

    Thanks for explaining your approach. I have a few questions. Do you use SAS for on-demand or realtime protection. What is the frequency and size of the SAS updates? What AV do you use?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  6. greyowl

    greyowl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Posts:
    85
    Dave,

    I use Firefox with adblock and no script. I am curious of the advantages that you find with K-Melon. Does K-Melon have ad block and no script?
     
  7. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    If I may jump in ... SAS updates are at least once daily, occasionally more than one, and are typically around 3 megs (full replacement database, rather than incremental updates which I'd love to see from them).

    I don't know if others experience this, but when I update SAS (and MBAM), for some reason each leaves a copy in temp internet files, according to Disk Cleanup, which needs removed.

    I've got the free version (no realtime protection) and do an on-demand scan once a week, so normally don't bother updating until just before I'm ready to scan.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I am using the freeware SAS & as far as I know it doesn't have much in the way of realtime protection unless you buy the 'Pro' vendor version. I do an on-demand scan approx every 30 days, it takes around an hour.

    There is a systems tray icon with the freeware version but I am not sure what that really represents. I think that their site says it all better than I can. I am seriously thinking of buying the 'Pro' version. I really do recommend it. It updates roughly every 8 hours & with the freeware version you have to do this manually. It doesn't take long though (couple of minutes if that) I am not sure exactly how big the updates are but they aren't big. It upgrades every 3 - 4 months as well. The whole process is quick & painless & a systems tray pop-up informs you of this.

    I like SAS, it has never been problematical & it removed a trojan that I had picked up in Russian newspaper websites I was surfing with SeaMonkey's translator last November. Norton & Spybot missed this. I don't use either of those now & I get McAfee now with my ISP.
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    K-Meleon has an inbuilt adblocker in 'Tools' on the menu bar. It also has a user-agent changer. There may be a NoScript available as an extension but it is very easy to toggle the JS on/off with F7. I find it much lighter & faster on my laptop than Firefox. However, as it is open source, & the dev team is not huge, at the moment it employs a slightly older version of Gecko. This will be rectified soon however.
     
  10. greyowl

    greyowl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Posts:
    85
    I thank everyone for the help and information and clarification of these issues.

    This is very helpful.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.