Update Task Slow

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by systemspac, Sep 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. systemspac

    systemspac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Why is it that the update task for out of date signature files so slow.:mad:
     
  2. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    And your version of ESET is? And your current signature version is?

    If you install a fairly old version of ESET then the "shipped" version of the signatures will be many releases behind the current release, and sometimes it's a single large download and many smaller downloads to get to the current release.

    How slow are you finding it and how are you timing it?



    Jim
     
  3. systemspac

    systemspac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    I just downloaded and installed the latest of the console and server from ESET last week.4.0.136. It was doing this with the 3.1.11 version as well.

    All my clients are 4.0.xx clients. I have/had several clients that are still at 5419 signature versions taht I need updated to the latest. I choose those clients and create a new Update task.

    For instance, the current task has 6 clients running 5419 sigs and has been in the update task for 100 minutes with only one successful.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Ok, things are much clearer now.

    Right, do you have the "check in with ERAS" configuration set correctly on the clients?

    2010-09-08_182517.png

    You can push this out to tthe clients with a config so they all have the same settings.

    We have ours checking in every 5 minutes, but I often drop that to 1 minute when doing testing of new configs and settings.



    Jim
     
  5. rockshox

    rockshox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Posts:
    261
  6. systemspac

    systemspac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    I am pushing out the config change now and will see what happens.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.