update server prompts for password

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by angelo_lopes, Feb 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    I configured EAV to update from a server, \\servername\xxx\yyy\zzz\mirror. I did it several times before, the Server itself is updating correctly, I did not configure password protection for updating and when I click update, EAV prompts me for the username and password I received after register. I have both fields empty. I can't understand why it prompts for the credentials. On another firm I have the same configuration, only the server name is different (and the path shorter if this makes a diference) and it never prompted me for UN+PW. Any clue?

    TIA
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Couldn't it be that you have configured a primary and secondary profile in the update task setup?
     
  3. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Hi Marcos. No, this is not the case. I already lost several hours trying to understand what's happening and I can't figure it out :(

    mirror1.png

    mirror2.png

    mirror3.png
     
  4. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Did you configure the advanced update settings (LAN tab) to use the current user (or a specified user)?
     
  5. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    No, Brambb. It's configured to use System account (the default). Anyway what it asks is for the un+pw I received from ESET and recommends to Copy (Ctrl+C) Paste (Ctrl+V) to avoid mistypings. Thanks for your post anyway ;-)
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    No, if EAV/ESS updates from a local mirror you must use a username/password to authenticate against your mirror server as the local system account does not have permissions to access network folders.
     
  7. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    No, Marcos. I installed RAServer on Windows Server 2000, after on Windows Server 2003, and on Windows Server 2008. I also installed at home for testing. I am sure (just double checked it) all Clients updating via mirror are doing it under Local sytem account. It is the first time, now on this other firm, that the error happens.

    Right now I uninstalled the Portuguese version and installed an English version so that you can read what the update prompts for: "...the username and password received after purchase or activation..."

    When I fill the fields with a valid AD account, domain\username and password, I receive the same License details window error.
    update_failed.png


    Best Regards,
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you update from a network share (not via http) and update is not configured to run in the account of the currently logged user, authentication against the network share is required; that's how Windows has always worked. You're right that this text is confusing in this case, but all it's supposed to mean is that the credentials for authenticating against the update source (update servers, mirror) are wrong/invalid. Try setting the update module to connect to the update server in the account of the current user if you don't want to fill in any credentials.
     
  9. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    I did what you said, Marcos and EAV updated. I tried it before, to write domain\username and password and EAV did not update. It is possible I mistyped the password.

    And now I am more confused. On my other firm EAV is updayting from the mirror under system account. You are right, Marcos, this is not the way windows behaves, but I have around 130 computers updating via mirror _and_ under System account without problems.

    The only difference is that where I have problems the Domain Controller is a Linux machine, an ipBrick. LDAP and DHCP are running in Linux (Debian). Where I have no need for pw it's all Windows (Server 2008 for the server).

    I can send you LogMeIn credentials so that you can see EAV updating from a share under system account. If you want to explore this further, please send me a PM. I am going to open a ticket with ESET's Portuguese Distributor just to make this clear.

    Thank you for your help!
     
  10. angelo_lopes

    angelo_lopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Some more news:

    The Firm where I have problems is connected to my main firm via a radio link. My network IP addresses are in the 192.168.x.x range and on the other firm I use 172.29.x.x. I have routes so that one network can "see" the other.

    After filling UN+PW like Marcos said on one computer, it did update from the local mirror. But for me it was a mistery why it needed UN+PW and on my firm I have 130 plus PCs updating without UN&PW. I understand the mirror authentication Marcos wrote, but I am not wrong about my experience.

    This morning I cleared UN&PW on the computer I was testing. Virus Signature DB was 4865 at the time. Half an hour ago I connected again to the computer and _without_ UN&PW it did update to 4866.

    I requested the configuration, checked it was updating via \\sdgd\Users\Partilha\.... without username and with Password Not Set, and made a New Configuration Task to send to the other non-Laptop computers. Tomorrow I will see if they are updating.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.