UPDATE: Port Explorer v2.11 released!

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Wayne - DiamondCS, Dec 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    This is just a minor update from v2.10 to correct a couple of issues found with last months v2.10 release - thanks everyone for their feedback for helping us find these. :)
    As with all our updates this one is free.

    DOWNLOAD:
    Please note that you will need to uninstall and reboot before installing this (due to changes in dcsws2.dll).
    http://www.diamondcs.com.au/downloads/pesetup.exe (1.03mb)

    Changes in this update:
    - Corrected an issue which was preventing Port Explorer from loading under some environments.
    - Enhanced the internal address resolving system, reduced redundant resolves, and also should fix a condition where some users experienced 100% CPU during certain events.
    - Mutex/Shared Section adjustment which should fix an issue of the GUI freezing on some systems under certain conditions.
    - A few other minor internal fixes and enhancements.

    Enjoy! :)
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Thanks Wayne ! :D
     
  3. gottadoit

    gottadoit Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    601
    Location:
    Australia
    Wayne,
    Does this update fix the memory leak yet ?
    (that was a fairly major issue for me at least)
     
  4. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Good work! ;)

    Thanks
     
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    gottadoit: thinkso, let us know ? :)
     
  6. gottadoit

    gottadoit Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    601
    Location:
    Australia
    Gavin,
    Thanks for replying, I'll give it a try but it takes as while for it to become noticable (unless I leave a page constantly refreshing to something relatively local like my router and that was what part of what triggered the 100% CPU usage previously)
     
  7. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    First of all, thanks for the update. I've just installed the new version and unfortunately am having problem with crash or something. Application error event id:1000.

    This only happens if I log in as a limited user. In admin I'm okay.

    By the way I didn't have this kind of a problem with 2.100

    Thanks.
     
  8. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    gottadoit, yes we believe we've fixed that one as although we weren't able to recreate it we did find out where it's probably occurring, and made some enhancements accordingly.

    GreenWhite,
    Did you install Port Explorer under the limited user account or as an administrator? And did you uninstall and reboot before installing the 2.11 update?
     
  9. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    Hi Wayne,

    Yes I installed under admin. I did as instructed, uninstalled the previous version, reboot and installed the new one (2.110).
     
  10. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    By the way, I manage to workaround the problem by allowing the limited user account the authority to modify and write under Port Explorer folder in the Program Files. I think it had something to do with the Process Log.
     
  11. Hagbard

    Hagbard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    13
    It didn't work when I installed v2.11 under my "old" Windows configuration (or messup :doubt: ).

    I decided to install XP SP2 and lo and behold PE is working again. Might have done the trick for 2.10 too but I won't complain. (Although now another program isn't working that worked under SP1, I guess I can't really win).
     
  12. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    I'm still using version 2.000 because I read reports of crashes with version 2.100. Is anyone still crashing with the latest version? If it is stable I'll install it.

    Dave
     
  13. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    So far no crashes with 2.11. I think it is stable enough.
     
  14. hawat

    hawat Guest

    same problem i m also using sp1 and i cant switch to sp2 because some of my programs wont run as expected with this
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.