Update from 6.0.306.0 to 6.0.308.0 ???

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by tjg79, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I recently upgraded from ESET SS 5 to 6.0.306.0. Yesterday, I got an indication from the ESET program that product update 6.0.308.0 was available. I attempted to update, but the update failed each time. Today, I performed a thorough disk clean-up and reboot to make another attempt at the update, but now the ESET SS program doesn't give any indications that update 6.0.308.0 is available.

    Presently, the program indicates "Installed version: 6.0.306.0 is up to date."

    What's up with version 6.0.308.0?

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
  2. Syobon

    Syobon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    469
    ESET is terribly at updating itself, it never worked here, I always ended, uninstalling the old version to install the new.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,790
    Location:
    Texas
    Worked fine here using the program to update.
     
  4. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,790
    Location:
    Texas
    Just to add, I'm using Win 7 64 Home Premium.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
  6. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    After about half a day, the ESET program indicated that the update 6.0.308.0 was available. I was able to update without an issue.

    My problem is resolved for now.

    It was strange that the program was indicating 6.0.306.0 was the latest version when 6.0.308.0 was released.

    My system is running Win 7 Pro x64.

    Regards
     
  7. ESS474

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    201
    Location:
    S?o Paulo (Brazil)
    Why this 6.0.308 is only for english?

    I dont know why this update affect languages and is always slow for update in others languages. :mad:
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    AFAIK language translation doesn't take place at the ESET HQ except maybe English and Slovakian, all the other ones is translated somewhere else, wich is why it takes a little bit longer.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    no issues updating here either
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.