Update does not complete and starts again

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Johnoz, Sep 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    I noticed unusual modem over the last few days. I eventually tracked it to NOD32 2.7 trying to update.

    NOD32 was trying to update engine1.nup. It will download to the point of 1722kB of the file size 1733kB (99%) and then stall.

    It then waits nearly a minute and does exactly the same again. Then another minute and tries again. (I hate to think what has happened to my download limit)

    Any assistance would be appreciated
    thanks
    John

    Win XP SP2
     
  2. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Further to the above problem I followed Blackspear's advice to Nameless.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=186682

    I now have an absolutely identical problem to Nameless - that is I now get to 76% of the 7.7mB download of engine0.nup and the download stalls, waits then goes to another server - and repeats the download to the 76% point - over and over.

    Nameless was unsure how he solved the problem.

    Can anyone assist.

    thanks

    John
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2007
  3. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
  4. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thank you WebYourBusiness,

    I followed the "Guided Help to determine and recover from Winsock2 corruption" on this KB and found no problems.

    Further thoughts would be appreciated.

    with thanks
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, this error occurs where there is Windows corruption, please complete the following:

    Download and SAVE WinsockXPfix from here: http://www.spychecker.com/download/download_winsockxpfix.html

    For Windows XP:

    Click on Start
    Click on Run
    Type in cmd
    Click on OK
    Type in netsh winsock reset
    (Please note there are spaces between the netsh and winsock and reset)

    Press ENTER
    Restart your computer.

    If the above does not work due to an issue with Windows, run WinsockXPfix that you downloaded above and follow the prompts.


    For Windows VISTA

    1. Click Start. In the Start Search dialog box, type: cmd, and right-click cmd.
    2. Click Run as administrator.
    3. Type: netsh winsock reset (and then press the ENTER key).
    4. Type: Exit and press ENTER.
    5. Restart the computer

    AFTER the above please go to the NOD32 Control Centre

    Click on IMON

    Click on Start and restart IMON.

    Then reboot your PC.



    Please also check for missing or damaged files within Windows:

    1. From the Start menu, select Run.
    2. In the Open field, type sfc /scannow (Note: There is a space between sfc and /scannow)
    3. Select the OK button.
    4. Follow the prompts throughout the System File Checker process.
    5. Reboot the computer when System File Checker completes.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thank you Blackspear

    I have tried these to no avail -

    netsh winsock reset
    then
    sfc /scannow
    then, as I was a little wary of the behaviour of WinsockXPfix I did a full NOD32 reinstall.
    this did not work so bit the bullet and ran WinsockXPfix
    still no good - downloads 69% of 8401Kb, stops and then retries.

    And I re ran "Guided Help to determine and recover from Winsock2 corruption" from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811259 telling it that Winsock was corrupted. It was rebuilt - but did not help.

    One strange bit of behaviour. I run 512kb broadband. The speed shown during the download is around the usual 50k. But each time when the download passes about 50% the download speed shown by NOD32 drops to low levels (moving around in the range of about 1k to 10k) - but my eye says the rate of download has not altered right up to the 69%.



    Anyway, still not out of the woods.

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2007
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please also check for missing or damaged files within Windows:

    1. From the Start menu, select Run.
    2. In the Open field, type sfc /scannow (Note: There is a space between sfc and /scannow)
    3. Select the OK button.
    4. Follow the prompts throughout the System File Checker process.
    5. Reboot the computer when System File Checker completes.

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks again Blackspear - have already done that.

    This is getting tricky!
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are hurting my head :blink: :blink: :blink:

    Please check the Registry Permissions:

    Click on Start
    Click on Run
    Type in regedit
    Click on OK
    Right Click on HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Click on Permissions
    Click on Advanced
    On the “Permissions” tab and make sure at the bottom of this window the following lines are ticked:

    • Inherit from parent the permission entries that apply to child objects. Include these with entries explicitly defined here.

    • Replace permission entries on all child objects with entries shown here that apply to child objects.

    After the above, please try reinstalling a FRESH copy of NOD32.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hello Blackspear

    I appreciate your help.

    The following is done.

    • Inherit from parent the permission entries that apply to child objects. Include these with entries explicitly defined here.
    was ticked

    • Replace permission entries on all child objects with entries shown here that apply to child objects.
    was not ticked - done

    then
    restarted
    downloaded fresh NOD32
    removed installed NOD 32 through add/remove programs and also the ESET directory in Program Files
    installed the new NOD32 - no problems

    still no joy......
    and my head hurts too
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Have you cleaned out your temp folders?

    Cheers :D
     
  12. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yes,
    Disk cleanup followed by defrag.

    Desperately clutching at straws here, but the problem has approximately coincided with a speed change from 256k to 512K with my ISP two or so days ago.

    cheers
     
  13. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    do you have "<Choose Automatically>" selected in the list of update servers, or are you using one in particular?
     
  14. sangam

    sangam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    ahmedabad, india
    just a thought, i had a problem on a client machine not updating, each time, it did, it failed, & then restarted the updation. i could finally resolve the issue after i corrected the proxy setting, or the dial up account... i really do not remember clearly, it was several months ago :doubt: .
     
  15. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks,
    Yes, I do. I can see the server name change at each attempted download.

    Thanks Sangam,
    I will play around with the proxy server settings, but I am pretty certain we don't use one. On the latest install I let NOD32 decide based on what IE used.

    thanks for the help
     
  16. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Johnoz,

    Please visit the following URL for detailed information on any transparent proxy your ISP may have installed http://www.lagado.com/proxy-test

    If it shows none then please confirm by using http://www.lagado.com/tools/cache-test and following the instructions there.

    Cheers :)
     
  17. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thank you NOD32 user.
    Both tests indicate there is no proxy.
     
  18. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Seems to be a connection problem of some sort. Pick random servers from the list of servers in the program, run tracert, and see where the connection goes bad.
     
  19. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    OK Johnoz, please continue with Blackspear - he is very experienced with NOD32 and has several methods of direct communication with ESET to that end.

    Cheers :)
     
  20. sangam

    sangam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    ahmedabad, india
    is it that there are two internet accounts configured, one that works for the network, another only for your pc ? if so, try using the local PC internet account. does that help ?
     
  21. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks Ronjor,
    I can Ping u32.eset.com (and many other sites) but Tracert will not get beyond my modem IP address 192.168.1.1. In fact cannot Tracert to any site. (including with the Firewall off)
    Just to add -
    I can download all other files normally except the update (including NOD32 from ESET)

    Hi Sangam,
    I have a stand alone PC connected to an ADSL modem.

    Again thanks to all for the advice.
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Bypass your router, making sure you have a firewall in place, Windows firewall is handy, and see if you can tracert to the servers.

    It sounds like your modem (does it include a firewall?) may have something to do with your problem.
     
  23. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I'm still asking around, as I have run out of ideas.

    Cheers :D
     
  24. Johnoz

    Johnoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks Blackspear and NOD32,
    The only thing I can firm up on a bit is the peculiar event associated with download speed.
    Independent of server in use and quite repeatably, download proceeds at max speed for 512k and then at exactly 50% it stops momentarily and then continues until 69%. Ive done it enough times........
    This may of course be normal.

    thanks again
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You might want to try installing ESS/EAV which uses very small updates. It should help if you experience problems downloading larger files (the updater requires a continual data flow, otherwise the update may not complete).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.