[UPDATE] DefenseWall 3.03

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by HAN, Jul 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
  2. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks downloaded and running smooth on my machine.
     
  3. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    " Thanks"
     
  4. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    any update on how it is working..
     
  5. SKA

    SKA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Posts:
    154
    Apologies if already covered earlier:

    On softsphere's webpage, it shows two different products - Defensewall HIPS & Defensewall Personal Firewall.

    1] Which is the better product ?
    2] Which one has less impact on one's system (browsing the internet , browsing files locally, etc) ?

    I use NOD32 v3 (plan to go to v4.2.58 ) on XP-SP3 and am confused which would be better - the HIPS 3.03 or the PF 3.03 ? (not using any other security products, apart from Spywareblaster)

    Thanks for any tips
    SKA
     
  6. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    You would probably want to go with the PF. The HIPS does not have a firewall but the firewall does have the HIPS. You should probably do a search to confirm that DFW is compatible with NOD32. I'm pretty sure it is but you should at least confirm it.
     
  7. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    think you have to try for yourself..in my experience i prefer hips..use less resources and impact browsing.
     
  8. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    As said, it's each to their own. At work, I am running just the HIPS. At home, I'm running the firewall version. The firewall is very basic but will allow control of outbound traffic, something the Windows firewall alone in XP won't do. (And, DW with firewall plays quite nicely with the Windows firewall in place. I run both.)
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    me too HAN;)
     
  10. billy13

    billy13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    45
    No x64 version......!!!
     
  11. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Same here, it sucks but that's the way it's going to be. I'm not renewing my license next year since I'm currently on an x64 operating system, time to move on I guess.
     
  12. billy13

    billy13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    45
    I'm not renewing for the same reason...(Win7 x64)
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    bah - not that pretty annoying discussion about missing x64 version(s)... :rolleyes:
    Ilya explained enough why not - like other devs also. please...
     
  14. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Please what? bah?
    I've already read Iyla's explanation on this issue, so?
     
  15. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    so why do you whine again so much...?:thumbd:
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    same here, I luv DW but all machines 64 bit and will be from here on out. So I guess no more for me.
     
  17. billy13

    billy13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    45
    Man,everyone has it's own opinion.....ok?:ninja:
     
  18. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Whine Again? I must have missed the first time. You seem to have the issue with comments being made by people using a 64 bit computer.
    This is not called whining, it's commenting to another person in this thread that happens to be in the same situation as myself, as was mentioned it's an opinion, one that everyone here is entitled to.
    I've had a license for DW for the longest time however since I am now using a Win 7 64 bit computer I can no longer use my license and since this is the case I will not renew my license. I am also well informed on Iyla's position on an x64 version of DW
    I wish Iyla all the best with DW, never had a problem using the program but why would I renew a license for a program that will not work with the current OS I am now using?
    Whining? Give me a break :rolleyes:
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    next question - on what criteria did you chose 64bit?
    wasted any thought an programs which you cant run any more?

    the call for 64bit software is not really new but it was louder with win7 64 bit.
    And Ilya wrote long before that he wont (or cant) develop for 64bit due patch guard.

    last - i dont want supress - but the discussion about 64bit and DW is not new.
    that is purpose nothing else - your turn to get the previous discussion(s) and
    write there instead renewing it elsewhere. you can also write Ilya a mail that
    might help more than here - assuming he do not read any thread about his software.
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Why?. Go to any electronics store and either high price or low, they are all coming with 64 bit installed. It is just a reality.
     
  21. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    My criteria as opposed to what? I decided to run a 64 bit operating system, I still have my Win XP Pro but I'm now using and will continue using Win 7 x64. I have a perfectly good & secured set up so there was no wasted thought on which programs run and don't run on x64. You act like this OS just hit the market yesterday.


    You're beating a dead horse with this issue. Again I am fully informed on Iyla's stance with a 64 bit version of DW

    There is no need to discuss matter further as this is way off topic and you seem to have a hard time comprehending this matter. There is also no need to contact Iyla either by email or posting on their forum as I do not intend to pursue this matter any further with DW. If by chance Iyla does decide to try and work with a 64 bit version of DW I will look in to it but as for now I will not.
     
  22. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Should we salute you now?
     
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    i appreciate that to - no matter (although i had my issues with dw).
    Malware defender and Zemana are also only for 32bit - too bad.

    i forgot something to say - i changed also software when upgrading from xp to
    win7 (32bit). and yes - i lost licenses too - directed money in other directions.
    turned from bought to free in some cases. same for my friend here - with a bit
    disappointment. its normal (for me).

    64 bit (Windows) are coming with my next computer - with the next major
    changes in software. ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ happens ;)

    PS i didnt used win7 from betas or alphas - bit later than the release.
    its now my main os, but xp is also still present and will go into a box,
    sadly i cant use my scanner any longer.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 14, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.