Unusable VPN performance with Vista and V4.0

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Steve_CA, Nov 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve_CA

    Steve_CA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Greetings,

    With both NOD32 Antivirus Home V4.0 and NOD32 Antivirus Business Edition V4.0, VPN performance is absolutely unusable.

    This problem did not exist with V3.0, but recently Vista Security Center will no longer monitor NOD32 V3.0, and only recognizes V4.0, thus requiring an update to V4.0... which in turn yields absolutely horrible and unusable performance with VPN. For example, establish a VPN connection then use telnet or SSH to a server and there is anywhere from 3 to 10 seconds latency for every 2-3 keystrokes.. this makes any kind of VPN access impossible.

    The ability to go into Protocols and set program exclusions is gone with V4.0 so this option is also not possible.

    Uninstall NOD32 and reboot- problem solved. Performance is restored. Interestingly enough disabling all four NOD32 protections does not help- the product must actually be fully uninstalled to restore VPN performance.

    Is there another way to either permanently exclude certain applications from NOD32, a way to bypass VPN (such as OpenVPN, Cisco or IPSec) or must a new AV product be purchased? Thanks!
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It sounds like a mutual conflict with your VPN and ESS when Windows Filtering Platform on Vista is used. WFP is not perfect yet, it suffers from memory leaks that affect Vista as well as all newer OS, including Windows 7, and we're eagerly waiting for MS to release a hotfix to this issue.

    What kind of VPN do you use? Do you see an executable related to your VPN in the list of web browsers in your EAV setup?
     
  3. Steve_CA

    Steve_CA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Marcos, and thanks for the quick reply!

    We are mainly concerned with OpenVPN as it's the most noticeable. I do not see it listed in the ESET options as a web browser or email client for active/passive selection if this is what you mean.

    Normally, the default install (and binary) for OpenVPN client is C:\Program Files\OpenVPNTech\bin\ovpntb_gui.exe. It operates using the standard TAP adapter, usually configured as "TAP-Win32 Adapter OAS"

    If there is any sneaky/clever ways that you can think of to work-around the above, I'm all ears!

    Thanks!
     
  4. Manu7204

    Manu7204 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    With v4 you have to do the things in a certain way :)
     
  5. Steve_CA

    Steve_CA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you! The fix linked takes care of the VPN problem. Tested on personal Home and BE.

    I'm creating the new config for RA push as well as updating our BE server install kits to the new 474 released today.

    Thanks again!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.