Unscheduled Scan...

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by manOFpeace, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hello, my Nod32 does an unscheduled scan every Tuesday night before the planned one. Problem is I cannot find where to delete it.
    Any help gratefully appreciated. See attachment;
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    If you use Windows 9x you might have the Windows scheduler set to trigger a scheduled scan.
     
  3. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Sorry Marcos, I should have given details.
    I have XP Home SP1. IE6. :oops:
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can it be that you missed a scheduled scan and it is the previous nights scan starting first. I found this, so I extended when it was to run, and that was if it was not run for 400hrs (just over 2 weeks), it was then to run a scan ASAP.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Just a shot in the dark - would you please go to Start - Control Panel - Scheduled tasks and make sure there's actually no scheduled task?
     
  6. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi Blackspear, no, it doesn't miss a planned scan, this has been happening for a while and I am only getting round to investigating it now. Thanks. :)

    Hello Marcos, scheduled tasks list is empty, nothing there at all. :)

    I did try looking through the folder in Program files, I couldn't see anything obvious there. Could you look and see which file it may be under? :)
     
  7. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Have you tried looking in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Eset\Nod\CurrentVersion\Scheduler branch of the registry? I believe that is where the schedule information is kept.
     
  8. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks alglove, under "schedular" in registry are the details given in attachment above. Good thinking but alas.

    As it is not a serious problem I will live with it as newer version is on horizon and probably that will sort it.
    Unless of course any other ideas come forward. :rolleyes:
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You could always try downloading a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com

    Uninstall your current version.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  10. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks Blackspear, when is new version due? I am on dial-up and you know the rest. If not too long to wait I can suffer it out for a while longer. I still have latest installer if pushed.
    Thanks to yourself and everyone who tried to help. ;)
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    No idea on that one, The current version is only about 20 to 30min to download on dialup, or if it isn't annoying you too much, then hang fire for the next update.

    Cheers :D
     
  12. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks Blackspear, as it's not a major problem I'll give it another while. One thing springs to mind, I did previously have it set for the earlier time then adjusted it to the slightly later time as it would have been scanning during update time, I didn't want the times clashing. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.