Unprotected items

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by chileno, Feb 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chileno

    chileno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    I am not sure what program is causing this, but I use Firefox (latest release, now 26.0) and Skype 6.11.0.102 and sometimes when I check the status of SB it shows that 2 or even up to 14 items are disabled under the protection for mozilla firefox.

    It is driving me crazy.

    Can anyone help?

    TIA
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,867
    Location:
    Australia
    Make sure you're not deleting Site Preferences.

    Do you use Ccleaner? If so, uncheck Site Preferences there as well.

    Edit : PS, the current version of Firefox is now 27. ;)
     
  3. psicop

    psicop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Posts:
    1
  4. gwt

    gwt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I'm having the same issue. Site Preferences is unchecked and I do not automatically clear out my history or my cookies whenever I close Firefox.

    Yet I wind up with over 25 to 230+ items unprotected everytime I open SpywareBlaster. This used to happen occasionally, now it's happening everytime I use CCleaner to clean up my computer. It almost seems as if CCleaner and SpywareBlaster are somehow incompatible with one another.

    Any idea what's going on?

    o_O
     
  5. gwt

    gwt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Still no answer on this, huh?

    o_O
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    If this is happening every time you use CCleaner, then CCleaner is almost certainly the cause.

    Do you have "Site Preferences" unchecked in both of the following places?
    1.) Firefox's Clear History dialog
    2.) CCleaner's settings for Firefox-related cleaning

    Also, what version of CCleaner are you running? That'll help us replicate this on a fresh testing setup. Thanks!
     
  7. gwt

    gwt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    CCleaner has it unchecked but Firefox's History dialog is checked. That's probably what the issue is. I'm using the latest version.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.