Uninstalling The Acronis OS Selector

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by kylecchh, Sep 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kylecchh

    kylecchh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hey Guys,

    I'm having loads of problems uninstalling this OS Selector. I'm using Windows Vista and didn't mean to install it, thinking it would have Vista Support… I know I can either disable it, or uninstall it. But, it’s asking me what Operating System to select when I uninstall it, for the MBR to choose, but, it doesn't "see" vista, so it’s calling it Unknown OS. Should I select that? I've read on one other forum to select that and then do a MBR repair with the boot disc, but I'm not sure, and I Really don’t want to lose my OS considering this is my main PC... Any help would really be appreciated.


    Thanks in advance for your replies,

    Kyle
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Did OSS always recognize Vista as Unknown?

    It is probably the correct entry to select. In any case, it's the only one there is.

    Do you have a Standard or OEM Microsoft Vista DVD that you could boot to and do a repair if needed?

    What type of computer is this on (desktop, laptop, brand, etc.)?
     
  3. kylecchh

    kylecchh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I hope it is, would you do the other method specified on this forum, the one where you just give the XP Files to vista's partition, and let it "see" vista from there?

    I'm using a retail disc that I have bought from a store ;) And yes, I still have the disc if a repair is needed.

    And, I'm using an HP, but with upgraded RAM, a new HDD, NIC, Video Card, and a secondary HDD. But still the same Mobo.

    Its a desktop.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Tricking OSS into thinking Vista is XP probably won't help when it comes time to uninstall OSS.

    If Vista currently boots okay right now as "unknown" using OSS, then what you could try is this:

    Deactivate (don't uninstall) OSS. Select the unknown OS as the default.

    See if Vista boots okay. If it does, then uninstall OSS. If it doesn't you can reactivate OSS and get Vista booting again.

    Personally, I would just uninstall OSS and hope for the best. At worst, you should only have to do a Vista repair. I'm assuming, of course, that you don't have any other "recovery" or "boot-through" partitions on the computer.
     
  5. kylecchh

    kylecchh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Well, It hasn't been booting into vista, I've been just pressing F6 to bypass it when it boots.

    I have a recovery partition on my slave HDD, it used to be my primary when I didn't have my old HDD, why, would that mess anything up?
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried deactivating OSS?

    If Vista boots correctly (and directly) after that, then go ahead and uninstall OSS.
     
  7. kylecchh

    kylecchh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I'll go ahead and try that tomorrow, hopefully it will work.
     
  8. Duncan Blair

    Duncan Blair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    This is somewhat off topic, but would help solve the problem addressed by this thread . . .

    Is there a way to _manually_ uninstall the OS Selector?

    For reasons I don't need to go into right now, I find myself in that situation.

    Duncan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.