Uninstalling expired Norton

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mercurie, Jul 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mercurie

mercurie A Friendly Creature

Need a little advice from those with experience.

What is the best way to uninstall Norton Anti-Virus 2004. 90 days is almost up. went to Command AV.

Most suggest use uninstall. But I hear Norton is like blackberry vine or morning glory vine in a flower garden, intangled throught out the system with left over files and reg. keys everywhere. I have SystemSuite 4.0 which I can use to help get rid of dead wood. If someone with experience can guide me on what is safe beyond the green signs in that utility after uninstall as well. I do not have the uninstall tool that comes in that utility as I was warned somewhere not to use that. Step by step help good at following directions but I am a novice. Thanks a bunch!! :D

2. Mudd

Mudd Registered Member

I suggest you go to Symantec Web Page and look around for the "Uninstall Norton 2004" for the best answer. The page will give you details about Registry deletes as well as some folder deletes. You will be happier with this way.

3. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

Use my avast! External Control program found on www.security-ops.tk.
    Program is intended to use with avast!,but some features are system global. Like Norton Antivirus 2004 Cleaner (almost at the end of the functions list).
    I made a fully automated cleaning for NAV2004 (and Pro version too).

4. Madsen DK

Madsen DK Registered Member

Nice page you have there, Rejzor :)

5. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

You can get the norton antivirus uninstaller from symantec here

6. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

Yes you can,but it doesn't remove half of undocumented files including bad ass VXD drivers that screw other antiviruses...

7. Arin

Arin Registered Member