Uninstalled NOD V4 and internet is gone

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by softtouch, May 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. softtouch

    softtouch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    I uninstalled NOD V4 via the nod uninstaller, not the control panel.
    The PC rebooted fine, and my internet was gone.

    I am using for the PC a static IP, and saw that it did not have any gateway anymore. When I added the gateway manually, the internet was back. But after the next reboot it was the same story again... no internet, because gateway entry was empty.

    I then switched it to dynamic IP, and it works.

    What the hell is going on? I have NO chance now to use static IP for that PC since the uninstall of NOD.

    Oh, yes, I did SFC etc., tried a repair, but all was ok...

    I am using Vista Ulrimate x86.
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Are you pulling your DHCP from a broadband router? Or directly from your ISPs modem without a router in between?
     
  3. softtouch

    softtouch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    From the router. And with DHCP from the router its working. But for years I had the PC set to use a static IP (192.168.x.x), and no issues ever. Just after uninstalling NOD, the internet was "off", and I saw that the default gateway (which is usually the routers ip) was empty. So I entered manually the routers ip as the gateway, and seconds later Vista detected the internet. But after every reboot, the gateway is again empty.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    is the router ip and gateway something like 192.168.1.254 ? And not the internet facing ip address.
    Are you logged in as admin?
     
  5. Pat40

    Pat40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Very interesting because I have exactly the same problem but I did not suspect NOD32. For years, I have used static IP for my Vista SP2 computer without issues with a Netgear router. But recently, problems occured and static IP don't work anymore. On the other hand, Dynamic IP works very well. If I set manually static IP and enter the default gateway (router's IP), it works agains, but default gateway empties itself constantly. I have two other computers, one with XP SP3 and the other with Windows Home Server without any problems with static IP.
     
  6. halcyon

    halcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    373
    This is well documented, well back to v3.

    Eset is yet to fix it.

    Reset your Winsock. That'll fix it.

    One of the reasons I got off Nod32 - Eset was too unresponsive to bug reports.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.