Uninstall v2.7 before installing v3 ?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by peetk, Feb 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peetk

    peetk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Its been a while since I upgraded and was wondering whether it was preferable or indeed essential to uninstall the old version before installing the new. Is there a procedure for this ? Does the new installation identify the old one ? Can the config on the old version be saved somewhere and reused ?

    Thanks

    Pete
     
  2. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    if you install v3 over v2.7 some of the settings will be imported. the smart way imho is to uninstall v2, reboot, do this, and install v3
     
  3. peetk

    peetk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I thought it would be a good thing to have the settings imported ! Anyway, a clean install is probably the best way to do it. Thanks
     
  4. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello peetk,

    The settings cannot be transferred from v2.7 to v3.0 when installing over the top because they have completely different User Interfaces. To ensure a v 3.0 clean install and ensure v3.0 runs without issues, we highly recommend uninstalling v2.7 before installing v3.0.

    Thank you for your reply nonoise, your answer is correct.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  5. peetk

    peetk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks. It would perhaps be preferable to wait for V4 !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.