Unclear on " enumerates other computers on lan

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Rainwalker, Sep 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I thought i was on a standalone computer, yet if i check off "Block host when it enumerates other computers on LAN" in my firewall, i am unable to connect to the internet. Why is this ?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what FW are you using and what are trying to achieve? sounds like it treats your machine as host if whatever reason the machine checks the network.
     
  3. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I'm messing with Outpost. Again, i should be on a standalone computer. Why am i having this problem ??
     
  4. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Maybe it detects your router (or whatever) as "other computer".
    Seems like you are perfectly safe from any Internet threats with this setting. :cool:

    Cheers
     
  5. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe it does. It is interesting to me that i have never seen a post such as mine, for many people use Outpost. I'll do some testing and report back. Thanks for the response. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.