Unable to update Spybot S&D

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by slammer_JvA, Apr 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slammer_JvA

    slammer_JvA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Below sea-level. Safe and sound behind our dikes:
    Unable to update Spybot S&D

    Since yesterday I can't seem to update Spybot S&D, cannot look for mirrorsites and I receive error as shown below.
    What could this be? I recently installed proxomitron and Winpatrol, but imho that shouldn't interfere, right? o_O
    Should I just reinstall Spybot?
    Like to have some expert looking at my HJT log first:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 22:12:48, on 2-4-2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\csrss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\alg.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winampa.exe
    C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTHELPER.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2\DVDAudio\CTDVDDet.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\Program Files\ASUS\Probe\AsusProb.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    C:\Program Files\Roxio\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Password Manager\AcctMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\BILLPS~1\WINPAT~1\WinPatrol.exe
    C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Detector\CTDetect.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgbhp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\tcpsvcs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\snmp.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\SPEEDD~1\NOPDB.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsPMSPSv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\fxssvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\SAVScan.exe
    C:\unzipped\ProxN45\Proxomitron.exe
    C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe
    C:\Program Files\Wisdom-soft ScreenHunter\ScreenHunter.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\DownloadsNB\HIJACKTHIS\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer aangeboden door @Home
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = ftp=localhost:8080;gopher=localhost:8080;http=localhost:8080;https=localhost:8080
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\ycomp5_1_6_0.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winampa.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SBDrvDet] C:\Program Files\Creative\SB Drive Det\SBDrvDet.exe /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QD FastAndSafe] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\QDCSFS.exe /startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PHIME2002ASync] C:\WINDOWS\System32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /SYNC
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PHIME2002A] C:\WINDOWS\System32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /IMEName
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSPY2002] C:\WINDOWS\System32\IME\PINTLGNT\ImScInst.exe /SYNC
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IMJPMIG8.1] "C:\WINDOWS\IME\imjp8_1\IMJPMIG.EXE" /Spoil /RemAdvDef /Migration32
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IMEKRMIG6.1] C:\WINDOWS\ime\imkr6_1\IMEKRMIG.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTSysVol] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTHelper] CTHELPER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTDVDDet] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy2\DVDAudio\CTDVDDet.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ASUS Probe] C:\Program Files\ASUS\Probe\AsusProb.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AsioReg] REGSVR32.EXE /S CTASIO.DLL
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AdaptecDirectCD] "C:\Program Files\Roxio\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AcctMgr] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Password Manager\AcctMgr.exe /startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SmcService] C:\PROGRA~1\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe -startgui
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [THGuard] "C:\Program Files\TrojanHunter 3.8\THGuard.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinPatrol] "C:\PROGRA~1\BILLPS~1\WINPAT~1\WinPatrol.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Creative Detector] C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Detector\CTDetect.exe /R
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CDFoon System-Tray] C:\cdfoon\cdftray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
    O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    O4 - Startup: Ubisoft register.lnk = C:\Program Files\UBISOFT\Register\schedule.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xporteren naar Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Onderzoek (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {00B71CFB-6864-4346-A978-C0A14556272C} (Checkers Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/msgrchkr.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedContent/vc/bin/AvSniff.cab
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0309.cab
    O16 - DPF: {3E68E405-C6DE-49FF-83AE-41EE9F4C36CE} (Office Update Installation Engine) - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {54B52E52-8000-4413-BD67-FC7FE24B59F2} (EARTPatchX Class) - http://files.ea.com/downloads/rtpatch/v2/EARTPX.cab
    O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
    O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsClient.cab
    O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yse/ymmapi_416.dll
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    Thanks in advance
    grtz
    Slammer
     

    Attached Files:

  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Re:Unable to update Spybot S&D

    Hi Slammer,

    I do not see anything obviously wrong with your HJT log. It looks clean to me.

    It might have to do with Proxomitron. I used it years ago and had to put my update sites into a "trusted" zone in proxo so the updates would bypass proxo. I cannot really help you much there.

    I would bypass proxo and see if you can get the updates then.
    If so, the problem would lie in your proxo config.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  3. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Re:Unable to update Spybot S&D

    Choose in the update-menu another update server and the problem will be solved. ;)

    Ciao,

    Smokey
     
  4. slammer_JvA

    slammer_JvA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Below sea-level. Safe and sound behind our dikes:
    Re:Unable to update Spybot S&D

    Thanks Kent, but alas: after doing so, still no result...
    I think I have to study a bit more... :doubt:
    I do believe it's the program itself that is 'corrupted' o_O because when I try to change to another mirrorsite, I can't: it stays 'fixed' at "No mirror selected"...
    hmmmm, what next?

    Slammer
     

    Attached Files:

  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Re:Unable to update Spybot S&D

    Spybot uses the same connection as IE to rretrieve updates

    what is happening is it's looking at the proxy settings and looking at the localhost to get the updates, where they are not
    it's not getting as far as spybot site

    something is interfering and I strongly suspect proxomitron or it might be win patrol.

    try either unticking hte proxy settings in IE & see if that works or set the same proxy settings in spybot settings

    yopu can't select a mirror for the download until spybot has retrievd the update configuration file with the list of download sites containing the updates. That is where it's hanging
     
  6. slammer_JvA

    slammer_JvA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Below sea-level. Safe and sound behind our dikes:
    Re:Unable to update Spybot S&D

    Thanks dvk!
    And so I learned yet a bit more (@ the fabulous Wilders school)
    I noticed in the Spybot settings I was already using proxy settings. Instead of your advice -stubborn capricorn here... :D- I unchecked these settings and tried again. Now it made contact and showed me there were no updates available.
    Next I'll do as you suggested. ;)

    It's all part of learning for me (and liking to learn a lot! I'm not embarrased to ask anything-I know one has to start somewhere..)

    Slammer
     
  7. BrianF

    BrianF Guest

    I have been unable to update Spybot for a few days now but I get an error message that tells me there are no newer update available.
    I have attempted to change the update site to no avail.
    I last updated my copy at in March and it now checks for about 12K different problems. I d/L a copy for here at work and it checks for only 5800ish and can not be updated.
    Both copies give the same error message.
    No newer update available

    Any thoughts?

    Brian
     
  8. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I have version 1.2 and the last update was March but as far as I know it is because the new version is being worked on which is only available as a release candidate at the moment. I prefer to wait until the final release for this so I think this is why we are no longer getting updates to v1.2.
    I am depending on Ad-aware reference file updates for checking my computer.

    HTH
     
  9. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise
    Final 1.3 version now available. Ck it out.
     
  10. subratam

    subratam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,310
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.