Unable to update Prevx :(

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Sep 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I'm running W7 64bit Ultimate, and i'm unable to updated Prevx. I've attempted several times over the last 12 hours. I also attempted to download Prevx 3.0 from the Prevx website, and install it over the current installation with no success. Here are 2 screen shots of the error messages. It really doesn't give any information on why it failed. I don't want to have to completely uninstall Prevx. I'm worried it will ask me to enter my license key in again, and then it will tell me that this license is already being used on another machine. I contacted Prevx in the past about having several license keys that was not showing on my Prevx account for managing. They told me i had to add them to my account. I attempted time, and time again to add them. I tried everything they told me to do, and nothing worked. To be exact i have 4 license keys that i can't manage. Anyone have any ideal why Prevx want update? Also, has anyone else experienced the same problem of their license keys not showing on their Prevx account to be managed?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you please try downloading the new version directly from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=prevxcsi64 and running the new executable as an administrator? That should allow you to update without a problem. Uninstalling/reinstalling won't cause a license to become deactivated or changed, but you would probably have more luck writing into our customer support inbox again about MyPrevx as they're more familiar with it than I am :)
     
  3. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    I've seen this problem before when I installed Prevx in a different user account that the one I was trying to update it in. If that's your situation, log into the account you originally installed it in and update it from there.
     
  4. nrestell

    nrestell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    I had this problem and it was due to AdMuncher. If you are using AdMuncher, you have to add PrevX as an exception under Options > Filter Targets.

    Neil
     
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I uninstalled Prevx, and installed the new version so i successfully updated to the newest build. I suspect that my K9 Webfilter may be blocking Prevx. I ran into this problem 2 or 3 years ago. I'm not sure why it would just start blocking Prevx again out of the blue.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Could you please send a scan log to Prevx with the link to this thread, maybe they can see something in the log that they can fix at there end: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TIA,

    TH
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    K9 has known to do this in the past - it could potentially be due to a slight change to our URL naming. You'll want to make sure that g*.p3.prevxinfo.com (where * is a number 1-99) is allowed through the filter.

    Let me know if you're still having problems and I'll investigate further!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.