unable to update every day

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by rollers, Feb 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Hi, I have read some of the threads on update problems and still have the same problem myself. Every day, I try to update NOD32 and only get "unable to allocate socket" I use the network repair button, reboot and it works. Then the next day I am back to square one. I have also tried the winsock fix, which does the same...............works, then the next day it doesn't.
    Does anyone have any other ideas on how to fix this as it is a bit ridiculous having to go through all this every day to update.

    Thanks for your anticipated help. You guys have bailed me out many times before.

    Win xp, sp2, nod32, prevx pro2005, boclean, tds( as backup scanner not realtime)
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There must be a program running which prevents NOD32 from alocating a socket. Please send a log from Hijackthis (you can google for it easily) to support@eset.com with a link to this thread.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    “Hijack This” can be found HERE

    Cheers :D
     
  4. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    I have today tried uninstalling Nod32, then re installing. So far so good, will see what tomorrow brings:)

    Thanks for your responses.
     
  5. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    So far so good today, still working ok. I am hoping the reinstallation has fixed it. Lets see how it goes
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Good to see, and thanks for keeping us in the loop as to you progress...

    Cheers :D
     
  7. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    a couple of days on and still working fine. When I reinstalled I deleted the eset folder (shredded it actually) so no chance of picking up previous settings. Hopefully this may help someone else too.

    Thanks for your help again all.

    Rollers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.