Unable to Restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bceld, Aug 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bceld

    bceld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I am trying to restore to a new hard drive from the recovery CD. When I choose a file to restore from, I get the message that it is not a .tib file when in fact it is. There are 23 .tib files on the drive and I am unable to use any of them. Could these tib files be corrupt as well? I am using version 9 of True Image. Thanks for any help!
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Any chance the archive was made with a later version than the rescue CD. Somewhere around build 3567 (I can never rember the exact build number) of TI9 they changed the tib file format. Later versions of TI can restore the earlier files but earlier versions don't understand the files created with the later version.

    The rescue CD you use should be made with the version of TI that you have installed at least.
     
  3. bceld

    bceld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    The rescue CD and the backups were all made with the same version. Version 9 is the only one I have ever owned. Thanks for the response!
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Are you using the latest build of TI 9 (or at least build 3,677)? If not, then maybe you could try it and see if it reads the files correctly.

    What are the file names of the .TIB files? Can you list them (or part of them)?
    Sometimes extra periods, spaces or other "odd" characters can cause problems.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    When you made the backup, did you choose the Entire drive or Partition option and not Files and Folders?
     
  6. bceld

    bceld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I chose the Entire drive.
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Great, that's the right choice.

    Where are the backup images stored?

    What build number of TI 9 do you have. 3677 or 3854 are the two latest builds of TI 9 Home. You should try one of them if you are not already doing so. Click Help then About for the build number.

    Have you tried to verify these backups on another computer running TI?
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello bceld,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (3854) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the issue persist, please notice that it is possible that the archive is being declared corrupt because of faulty data transfer routes. Please run a memory diagnostics such a Memtest86+ available free from www.memtest.org for a several hours. There should be no errors reported. Please also run Windows chkdsk utility with parameter "/r" on the hard drive the archive is stored at.
    If there are no errors with memory/hard drive reported, please try copying/moving the archive to another location, and validating/restoring it again.

    Notice that in most cases corrupted disk/partition images can be mounted and most of data recovered. Please see the respective User's Guide for details.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.