Unable to install second copy of XP

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by ugar69, Apr 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ugar69

    ugar69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I have Disk Director 10 and activated OS selector. I have 2 sata drives. The first drive has Windows XP, the second drive is data. I created a second primary partition on the first drive, that's where I want my second copy of XP. I reboot to oss with my Windows XP CD in the drive. I right click the CD icon and tell it I want the newly created partion to be active and I want the partion with Windows XP on it to be hidden. I double click the CD icon and the Windows XP setup program sees the new partion as drive C. Good so far. Windows XP copies setup files to the new partion and reboots. OSS does not come up, instead I get a Windows screen that say "autochk program not found - skipping autocheck" Then a blue screen appears and it reboots. So, I reactivate OSS and now there is a second Windows XP icon. I double click it hoping the setup will continue, however the screen goes blank with the cursor flashing in the upper left of the screen... it is locked up. I reboot to OSS and select Disk Director. The Disk Director screen comes up briefly, then reboots to OSS again. So I select Disk Director again.. this time it comes up. It shows my new partion as active and the original partition as hidden. It looks correct, yet I try the procedure many times with the same result. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ugar69,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Please create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected report file to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. ugar69

    ugar69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I have submitted the request. Upon resolution, I will post results here so that others may benefit from the solution.
     
  4. ugar69

    ugar69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    To anyone that may have similar problems and is watching this thread for a solution, I'm sorry. My response from support is that everything looks ok, it should be working, call Microsoft. So I will try to figure this out on my own. If I find a resolution I will post it here for all to see.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ugar69,

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  6. ugar69

    ugar69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Hello,

    My request number for this issue is: 555976. The reply I received is:

    Thank you for using Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/diskdirector/).

    Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

    According to the report created your disks and partitions are OK.

    It seems you are doing everything right.
    The installation should be smooth in this case however Acronis Os Selector would be deactivated and you would need to reactivate it.

    If you still have difficulties with second Windows installation we can recommend you to contact Microsoft support: http://support.microsoft.com/ph/1173

    We are always at your service should you have any further questions.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ugar69,

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    As I can see, our Expert Team is already working on your issue. We will let you know the results of their investigation as soon as possible. As this can take a few days, we apologize in advance for any delay with response.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  8. ClickerTicker

    ClickerTicker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    I had a similar problem, although I actually used True Image 9 to create the second copy.
    Stumped me for a while, but the answer (for me anyhow) turned out to be fairly simple...
    The culprit was the boot.ini file in the root directory - mine looked like this:
    where the "3" refers to the partition number on the disk.
    As my copied XP partition was now partition 1, I simply edited its boot.ini file (using Disk Director) to change the "3"s to "1"s - bingo, booted first time.
    Your mileage may vary and, of course, your partition numbers will probably differ.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.