Unable to Hibernate after TI Backup and Restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LimJK, Jun 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LimJK

LimJK Registered Member

Hi,

I am new to Acronis products, hoping that someone can give me some suggestions.

I just bought a Fujitsu S6311 Laptop that has a 80GB Fujitus SATA harddisk.

(I am able to Hibernate the system at this point)

I used Acronis TI 8.0 Personal Edition (later I tried with TI 9.0 Home Edition) to BACKUP (under Windows XP SP2) the disk into a *.tib file on an external USB harddisk.

I replaced the harddisk in the laptop with a 100GB Hitachi SATA harddisk. I used TI to RESTORE the image into the new harddisk on the laptop.

Everything seems OK; including shutting down, system standby, etc. Except that I am unable to hibernate the system. The Hibernate process starts correctly as I can see the indicator bar goes from the left to the end on the right, however, without the usual beep. Hibernate aborts and got back to Windows XP environment with Windows System Error on the task bar.

Did I missed anything? Thanks for any words of wisdom.

Cheers
    JK

2. LimJK

LimJK Registered Member

Hi,

Since I did not get any suggestions...

I decided to upgrade my TI8 (OEM) to TI9 Home. Using Acronis Boot disk I cloned the 80GB Fujitsu Harddisk (inside the laptop) to the 100GB Hitachi harddisk over USB on a SATA Casing.

Like in the previous post, I can Hibernate with the original 80GB Fujitu Harddisk. However, after cloning I swap the 100GB Hitachi Harddisk into the Laptop, I am unable to Hibernate!

Am I the only one with this problem?
    I would greatly appreciate if someone could help confirm that this is a known problem or if I have missed anything please guide me.

JK

3. VolkerNadolski

VolkerNadolski Registered Member

Hi,

have you tried to deactivate Hibernation, delete the Hibernation file and them reactivate the hibernation function..?