Unable to create volume snapshot - Echo Server

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Roman1, Feb 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Roman1

    Roman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    All,

    I'm having an issue with one of my scheduled backups. I'm using the latest build of Echo Server for Windows. Volume C: is imaged to external USB drive successfully however volume D: (a separate task) produces a consistent error; however, I can successfully complete the image if I run the task manually.

    I immediately suspected the administrators credentials. I've cloned the C: image task twice and edited only the parts necessary to adapt the task to D: I've also clicked through the task twice and manually reentred the administrators credentials.

    I'm left puzzled at why the task runs manually but produces the error below if run at its scheduled time (as received by e-mail notification).

    From: <e-mail>
    Sent: Sunday, 17 February 2008 11:10 AM
    To: <e-mail>
    Subject: Acronis Server Notification from homenetsvr.HomeNet.local

    1 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:03 AM The "Disk D Full Image to Ext
    USB" operation started
    2 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:09 AM Analyzing partition 0-0...
    3 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:10 AM Analyzing partition C:...
    4 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:10 AM Analyzing partition D:...
    5 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:10 AM Analyzing partition 1-6...
    6 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:10 AM Analyzing partition 0-0...
    7 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:10 AM Analyzing partition F:...
    8 Warning! 17/02/2008 5:15:10 AM Priority changed to Low priority
    9 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:10 AM Analyzing partition 1-6...
    10 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:12 AM Analyzing partition D:...
    11 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:13 AM Create Full Backup Archive From:
    User Data (D:) To file: "F:\Acronis\DiskD_[date].tib" Compression:
    Normal Description: "Disk D Full Image"
    12 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:13 AM Pending operation 135 started:
    "Creating partition image"
    13 Information 17/02/2008 5:15:33 AM Locking partition D:...
    14 Error 17/02/2008 5:15:33 AM
    Unable to create volume snapshot: None
    15 Information 17/02/2008 11:09:31 AM
    Unable to create volume snapshot: None: User replied: oK
    16 Error 17/02/2008 11:09:31 AM Operation with partition "0-6" was
    terminated.
    Details:
    Unable to create volume snapshot (0x70021)
    Tag = 0xA5695862AAF8E754
    Failed to unlock volume. (0x10C444)
    Tag = 0x14181C22EF45AE7B
    The operation completed successfully (0xFFF0)
    code = 0)
    Tag = 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8AF
    17 Error 17/02/2008 11:09:31 AM Operation has completed with errors.

    Any thoughts?

    Regards...

    [Edit: My sysinfo26.txt was submitted recently for ticket #1328229]
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  2. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    We also get there warning once in a while..

    do you have vss enabled in the JOB? or Multi Volume Snapshot.

    When using VSS is the windows "Volume Shadow Copy Service"set to automatic and started?
     
  3. Roman1

    Roman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    This is peculiar - have you noticed any patterns?

    I'm running a manual image now, I'll check the settings when it is complete. I believe both are enabled.

    The service is set to Automatic. The image task for C is always successful, D always fails unless I run the task manually.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Roman1,

    Thank you for using Acronis Server Disk Backup software

    Could you please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post and SnapApi log. In order to create this log please download Acronis drivers and create the driver log by installing the update with enabled logging and reproducing the issue. The log file will be created on the C:\ partition. The name of this file will be snapapi[date-time].log

    After that please submit a request for technical support with the attached log, Acronis Report and the link to this thread. We will do our best to help you as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
  5. Roman1

    Roman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
  6. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    We Have also seen some strange bugs in de scheduler for Example.

    When you create a job and do nothing about it OK!

    But You create a job. And Run that job manual and then cancel(terminate) the running job. it gets a terminated by user notice. But will never run again. When I then reschedule the job for just 1 minute ahead it will work the next schedule.....

    hmmmm
     
  7. Peskind

    Peskind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I have a same problem:
    The image task for C is always successful, D always fails unless I run the task manually first time!

    If I make the full image, it runs OK, but after verification "the image is corrupted". Sorry, I have a German version and I'm not sure, I translate it correctly.

    And where is no answer from Support :(
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis Software

    Peskind, Could you please let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? I will find out how the investigation of your issue is going and the reasons of the delay.

    Thank you.
    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
  9. Peskind

    Peskind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    [Acronis #1322768]

    We have VSS-Service updated, but it was not successfull.

    We have also another ticket [Acronis #1358266] - Workstation Agent starts the PC backup, but after the first part (700Mb) it will be stopped (no response).

    MfG,
    Dmitry Peskin, Germany
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.