Unable to browse for files - True Image Home 2009 Bld 9709

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mogulman, Mar 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mogulman

    mogulman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    When using True Image Home 2009 Build 9709, I can't browse for Backup files or data files most of the time. True Image just hangs.

    about 5-10 minutes later I get an error message that it can't find a MS Sharepoint file with an HTTP URL.

    This happens when trying to create a backup task and browsing for existing backups. It also happens when trying to create a backup of Data Files rather then my entire PC.

    I've attach a pic of the eventual error message.

    I'm assuming somehow TI is searching for files but trying to access some Sharepoint files I used in the past. Those sharepoint files are only available to me when connected to my Company's VPN. I wasn't connected to the VPN when starting the backup.

    I tried doing online chat, but they were useless. I created an email case with support Case 00092710. Who knows if anything will come of this thing. I'm almost ready to throw it out and buy a different piece of software. I'm definitely not recommending this to anyone I know for now...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mogulman

    mogulman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Anyone else experience anything like this? anyway to limit the drives or folders where True Image searches for images? What about limiting the drives/folders it searches for backing up data?
     
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Is your VPN running in the background by default?


    Colin
     
  4. mogulman

    mogulman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    No. It is Juniper web based VPN.

    I don't have problems with windows explorer or any other programs.

    This is on Vista Business SP1
     
  5. mogulman

    mogulman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Almost a week and no response from Acronis from my email ticket or in here.
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Contact Support via Live Chat from your persnal registration page.
     
  7. mogulman

    mogulman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Yeah.. well.. I did that last week. I just got all kinds of recommendations about installing some irrelevent old scheduling files and reinstalling the software from scratch. None of that helped.
     
  8. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    mogulman:

    On a hunch, have you tried disabling the Distributed Link Tracking Client? Instructions are in this post from Acronis Support.
     
  9. mogulman

    mogulman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Interesting idea. Tried it but didn't make a difference.

    I can do this consistantly with True Image on my machine. I wish there was a log file or something I could provide to Acronis to help them figure this out.
     
  10. mogulman

    mogulman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Almost 2 weeks and still no response from anyone at Acronis for this thread or my email ticket on the web-site. <knock knock>.. anyone homeo_Oo_O
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mogulman

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I've replied in your case an request some additional information. I need that information to investigate your problem thoroughly and to provide you with a possible workaround.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Rasovsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.